Uzbek Plov (Lamb and Rice Pilaf) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I have tried this recipe few times, always the result was astonishing. I have used the review comments to improve, cranberries and barberries are really different, I have used sour cherries once as well with some sour sultanas. Grated carrots leave extra water, which wasn't useful so thinly sliced way is give the better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceylan Unal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The bottom was a little burnt but definitely edible. The rest was absolutely delicious. The times in the recipe were a little off but as long as you keep an eye on the food, it turns out really good. This was also my first time cooking with lamb so I'm glad it came out good. I substituted dried cranberries for barberries and the added sweetness was very welcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I made it as written (okay, I added chopped almonds) and it was fantastic. My husband said I could make this anytime... and I plan to! I'm looking forward to trying this with different veggies, dried fruits, nuts, etc. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I hate to review this, not having made it exact, but I had leftover lamb which didn't need to cook as long. I added it just before adding the rice so I didn't add that extra half hour of cooking and it came out fine. This was really delicious and will be my go to "leftover lamb" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
following this recipe exactly for cooking times and so forth, everything was burned and unedible. Very disappointed. Lamb is not cheap either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I love plov, especially Uzbek plov. This is a very authentic recipe, the plov is just absolutely delicious. I have made it with lamb (my favorite), beef, pork and vegetarian - it is really good no matter how you make it. My kids always ask for seconds and thirds, and it is just as good two days later as it is when you first make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My nephew, daughter, and husband ate every scrap. begged for more. I will have to double this one next time. I didnt have cumin or coriander seeds (just ground) so I halved that, and I didnt have the berries. We just used squeezed lemon to taste. Also, I used half water half beef stock. I will look into the berries for next time! Different and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This is one of my favorite dishes and everyone seems to have a slightly different variation. I like to add about 1/2 tsp of paprika, turmeric, and tarragon each to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missadria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Amazing! It was just like my mom used to make:). ( I am originally from Russia:) . My very American husband and son loved it too. They are both extremely picky eaters. It was really easy to make and super delicious. I did not change anything and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States