Urban Legend Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Yummy! Super good and great to make with kids. My whole family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
These are good! I prefer to use pecans for the walnuts, and I use my cookie scoop for the dough, then I pat it down slightly. My baking time is slightly less, though, closer to 7 or 8 minutes or when the edges are golden and the tops just ever so slightly starting to brown, otherwise they seem too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
THE URBAN LEGEND IS THAT THESE COOKIES ARE ACTUALLY NEIMAN MARCUS CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
LOVED this cookie! Used 1 3/4 c of each of the sugars (that was plenty) and 1 1/2c of choc chips 'cause that was what I had. Did not bother with the grating of extra choc. Processed 1/2+ the oats to get fine powder and rest left as oatmeal (we like oatmeal). Next time will add a bit of cinnamon and maybe nutmeg. Took some to work - they disappeared in seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I recommend you use Milk chocolate for both the bar and the chips. You will never go back to traditional cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
The key here is definitely BLEND THE OATS!!! It gives it the most amazing texture. And it's a part that most people miss, it really does alter the outcome of the cookies. These are my favorite cookies :) An alteration I do for my mother is adding a cup or so of cranberries to the half recipe. Gives them a nice tangy kick. Just an idea ;) Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
If you make these right, they are outstanding. Someone gave me this recipe 15 years ago and now I'm known for my chocolate chip cookies. I know it's terrible, but I use margarine instead of butter which really help the texture. I don't bother grating the chocolate. I just throw some extra milk chocolate chips in the blender and mix that in (and I add more chocolate than it calls for). In the end though, underbaking these cookies is really the key for me. I bake them for 6 minutes and let them cool as short a time as possible on the cookie sheet. People continually beg me to make them and I've sold a few batches. By the way you can make these vegan and they are still fantastic! The texture is different and you have to form them into a cookie (they don't spread out), but the taste is still incredible. My vegan friends said they were the best cookie they had ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Flavor was good, but we were expecting chocolate chip cookies, not oatmeal cookies, which is exactly what these are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
It's okay, but not terrific. It's not buttery enough for me and something isn't quite right, although this is a lot nitpicking on my part. I like my chocolate chip cookies a particular way, I'm afraid. Just a note on a couple other reviews. I don't see anywhere in the recipe where the chocolate has to be chopped. Also, someone noted this was the Mrs. Field recipe. Mrs. Field's has stated they do not use oats/oat flour in their chocolate chip cookies and I cannot taste oats in those cookies. They have stated that their recipes use more butter and vanilla than the average home recipe, along with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Liedel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
These cookies were a hit with my hubby's coworkers. He got several requests for the recipe and thank you e-mails for the delicious treat! I had to bake these for 12 min, don't know if I rolled them too large or what, but they still seemed a little undercooked when I took them out but cooled fine and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States