Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
wow! Haven't had a homemade cookie this good in a long time. My 2 and 4 year old helped me make these, followed recipe exactly except we used margarine and the whole bag of chocolate chips. Super chocolately and so chewy good. This is my new oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Just ok, kind of a different taste if you are used to traditional chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clegg_connie@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Yum! I couldn't make enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I followed the recipes exactly, except didn't add nuts. I also added a bit more baking powder to assure they rose well. OMG this might FINALLY be "The One". I love the extra texture the oatmeal powder adds. My cookies turned out JUST like the photo-very fat and plump-without being cakey or flourey tasting. Yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Bigford

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
These take a while to make but they are so moist and wonderful it is so worth it! I use pecans because I like them better than walnuts. Also, it is much easier on the kitchenaide and keeps it from mixing it over the edge if you half the recipe. They freeze great. For the ones I don't put nuts in I put M&Ms... that way people can easily tell which ones have nuts and which do not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
My family isn't fond of walnuts so I used Pecans AND I blended them to a pulp. The flavor was there, but no chunks. Other than that...made just as is! Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We have been making these for about 15 years now. Perfect everytime!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Delicious! I'm just eating my 4th cookie now and these have a nice consistency and flavor (also reduced both sugars to 3/4 c.). I might add cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This has been my chocolate chip cookie recipe since the late 1980's. I got this recipe and it was called the Nieman Marcus $250 cookie recipe. Of course back then, I believed the urban legend. Then I got a similar recipe that I was told was Mrs. Field's recipe (which I'm sure is also an urban legend). I tend to follow the Mrs. Field's recipe. The only difference between this recipe and my "Mrs. Field's" recipe is 1) I don't grind up the oatmeal and 2) I don't add grated chocolate to the dough. What prevents these cookies from flattening is the fact that there is a lot of dry ingredients. I find it is easiest to mix the dough up with a heavy duty (Kitchen-Aid) mixer. Trying to mix the dry ingredients in by hand can be very tiring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These cookie were VERY good. I took them to work and all my coworkers loved them. I followed the recipe exactly as written, not changing a single thing. My only complaint, I wasn't too happy with the way they looked after baking, they looked nothing like chocolate chip cookies. Everyone thought they were oatmeal cookies at first glance; I think it was because of the grated chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States