Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Unbelievable! Ouststanding! I halved the recipe because I only had half a mixed bag of semi-sweet and white chocolate chips. It made exactly 24 cookies. I was skeptical of grinding the oats, I thought, "where's the texture?" But it is so good! I will use half margarine and half butter next time to make a thicker cookie. The butter made them flat (but I like them that way) it's more for my husband and daughter who like "cakier" cookies. Oh, I also used almonds instead of walnuts. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Meyers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I added dried cranberries, toasted pecans and salted the tops with sea salt. Also used the 70% cacao chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Okay, so as I am reading the recipe, I am thinking to myself - grinding the oats, grated chocolate? Then I made the dough (only a half batch) and it seemed a little dry, but tasted amazing - yes, I eat cookie dough. I proceded to bake these, and they didn't look all that good. They were a little rough around the edges, they didn't spread into a perfect little round cookie. I turned off my oven and decided only baking 12 of these was going to be enough. My daughter and husband wandered into the kitchen (funny how that happens when cookies are baking), and each grabbed one. They said, with their mouths full, these were some of the best chocolate chip cookies ever. Back on went the oven and I made the rest of the batch. Of course, I had to try one (or 4) of the cookies, and they really are darn good chocolate chip cookies. Will for sure be making a full batch of these cookies soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
My fave chocolate chip cookie...I always sub course chopped dry unsalted roasted almonds for the walnuts...makes the best dough ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I tried this recipe for the first time today and it was tasty. I substituted the all purpose flour for whole wheat flour because it's what I had on hand. The taste of the cookies was good but they were a bit dry. This may have been due to the whole wheat flour. I would make this again but with fewer chocolate chips. Seems like I had more chips than dough and it was slightly overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I was really disappointed with the texture of these cookies - maybe I cooked them a little too long. They were still delicious but not the same as the Macy's cookies from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I halved the recipe because 5 dozen cookies was a bit much for us. They came out really good! I took them out just as the edges were beginning to turn golden and that was perfect timing (about 8 minutes). I think next go-around, I will reduce the amount of semi-sweet chocolate and increase the milk chocolate because that's my preference. This is definitely worth making and is an easy go-to cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Best cookies i've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by powersce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
They were good, but I didn't think they were much better than the easier to make chocolate chip cookies or oatmeal cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Huge hit! I have never made cookies from scratch before & our friends could get enough of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeBe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States