Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a very good cookie. I had to cook them much longer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made these years ago from an e-mail. The department store in the e-mail was Neiman Marcus. I have never had a cookie from a Neiman Marcus, but I thought they did taste a little like the ones from the Double Tree hotel they give you when you arrive. I don't know that I believe the story now. However, when I did make them I halved the recipe here and it still made plenty. I find them to be a tad work with the grinding of the oatmeal and the grating of the chocolate. Overall, they are as good as any other cookie. I did save the recipe though, so I must had planned to try making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I followed the advice of others and decreased sugar to 3/4c. each, increased baking soda by 1/2tsp, and baking powder by 1/4tsp because I prefer a little puffier cookie. Could not be more pleased with the result! I also sprinkled some cinnamon right on in these. The balance of flavors is wonderful and even without grinding the oats these are the perfect texture - not overly hard or chewy after baking exactly 7min, letting sit for 1. Wouldn't hesitate to make this my go-to chocolate chip oatmeal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
These are a favorite in my house. I use pecans instead of walnuts. These are definitely one of my favorite cookies ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These really are amazing cookies, my mom made them for me when I was a kid when the original email was forwarded around, and they are just as good now as they were then. The thing I like about them is that they are unique, the ground up oats make all the difference for an awesome texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I so wanted to love these but I really didnt even like them (although I ate them but that is an issue of gluttony). They were dry, overly sweet, and fell apart. Keep looking for new chocolate chip cookie recipes on this site. There are many others to try that are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used butter, both cups of sugar, Heath toffee bits, semi-sweet chocolate chips and blended milk chocolate melts. I did not add nuts, as we are not fans in my house. They turned out great! I baked them on a metal cookie sheet and a Pampered Chef stone and the ones cooked on the stone turned out perfect - crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I ended up with 84 2" cookies - enough to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cupcake Princess
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
These are so good! I've made the original Neiman Marcus cookie recipe from their website, and I made these because I wanted to compare the orignial with the legend recipe. Both recipes are really good and so different I can't choose which one is better. I really liked the addition of the ground oats, it made the cookies more hearty than regular chocolate chip cookies without making them too rough like other oatmeal cookies. I put the milk chocolate in the food processor and that sure took alot less time and effort rather than grating it by hand. I wanted bigger cookies so I dropped the dough by heaping tablespoons and baked them for about 12 minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a keeper. I took both sugars down to 3/4 cup, used half margarine and half unsalted butter, and added a little more baking soda. I love milk chocolate so I also used half milk and half semi-sweet chocolate chips. Everyone else was right... 1.5 cups was more than enough! Add a little sprinkle of cinnamon... you won't have any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissDoor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
wow! Haven't had a homemade cookie this good in a long time. My 2 and 4 year old helped me make these, followed recipe exactly except we used margarine and the whole bag of chocolate chips. Super chocolately and so chewy good. This is my new oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 559) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States