Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Recently I have made my share of cookies, and though they were all good, this is by far the BEST! The crispiness from the grated oatmeal, the heavenly chocolate with every bite, and the chopped walnuts, make this the perfect cookie for me! I did add 1/2 tsp of ground saigon cinnamon (enhances chocolate for me), and 2 tbs of ground flax seed. I have made this recipe twice in 2 days. On today's batch, I used Hershey's special dark chocolate chips, and Ghiradelli bitter sweet bar I grated in food processor. This is now my go to for cookies, and I will be making these for Christmas presents this year =). Hope these work out for you, happy baking =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by substance777

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Great cookies...careful not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These are the best chocolate chip cookies I have made. I get rave reviews when I do. This is the closest recipe to Neiman Marcus's famous choclate chip cookie recipe. I had the original recipe from the nephew of the woman who got the original recipe from NM. I lost my copy several years ago. Funny that I got the recipe when I made cookies for work and the gentleman tells me that he makes these famous cookies and proceeds to tell me the story of the Urban Legend. I can tell you that this the closest recipe, if it is not. I do remember the instant espresso and the ground oats. These were the key ingredients. The only thing that may differ is the amounts. Thank you for posting the recipe as I have been searching for this for the longest time and this is the first I have seen of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Wonderful! I used unsweetened cocoa powder instead of the 4 oz of milk chocolate, and added some apple sauce for added moisture. Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DownHomeCookin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Im sorry I followed directions to a T. and these were very dry and tasted like powdered oatmeal. Wasn't good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Perfect cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These cookies are amaaaaaaazing. My mom always makes the best chocolate chip cookies ever, so I just wanted to try something to compete with her. We both fell in LOVE with it. The oatmeal really makes a difference in the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is a very good cookie. I had to cook them much longer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I made these years ago from an e-mail. The department store in the e-mail was Neiman Marcus. I have never had a cookie from a Neiman Marcus, but I thought they did taste a little like the ones from the Double Tree hotel they give you when you arrive. I don't know that I believe the story now. However, when I did make them I halved the recipe here and it still made plenty. I find them to be a tad work with the grinding of the oatmeal and the grating of the chocolate. Overall, they are as good as any other cookie. I did save the recipe though, so I must had planned to try making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I followed the advice of others and decreased sugar to 3/4c. each, increased baking soda by 1/2tsp, and baking powder by 1/4tsp because I prefer a little puffier cookie. Could not be more pleased with the result! I also sprinkled some cinnamon right on in these. The balance of flavors is wonderful and even without grinding the oats these are the perfect texture - not overly hard or chewy after baking exactly 7min, letting sit for 1. Wouldn't hesitate to make this my go-to chocolate chip oatmeal recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 546) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States