Urban Legend Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Note to self: DO NOT make again! Sooooo sweet, soggy (at 8 minutes) and crumbly. At 11 minutes, still bendy soft, crumbly and flavorless except for the overwhelming sweetness. The rating seduced me into trying this a second time, even though I had a 20-year old typed copy in my file with comments not to make again! If you are tempted to make this, click on the review sort option and look at the 80 or so low star reviews from people who made this recipe with no changes. Please don't rate your changes as a 5 and mislead us poor misguided souls who continue to believe in the definition of a recipe. Please forgive me for sounding a bit testy, but this is a lot of butter and chocolate in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Leti
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Love love love this recipe not trying another one ever again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This recipe is AWESOME! I did make changes based on what I had in my home. Instead of milk chocolate I ground white chocolate squares in the blender.I only had quick oats, so I reduced the quantity to 2 cups. I didn`t add nuts. I also made the cookies really big. They are super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lois Anna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
These are great! I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup each, used whole wheat flour, and didn't put in too much grated chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Yum!!! I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 Apple sauce with oil and these came out SO good that toddlers and husbands alike could not stop munching them and now they're asking for more..... Cutting chocolate with a chef knife is KEY! It makes them that much more special and indulgent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
My son's cooking class at school made these. He was raving about them so much, I had to see for myself. I will be adding this to the cookie recipe rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Creek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Tip: don't forget the flour:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
They turned out great! I'm not a baker so I was so impressed with the outcome. I shared them with several neighbors and I've had two requests so far for the recipe. I tried one batch without the grated chocolate and they were just as good. Mine took the whole 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Ford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
i used instant oatmeal w/ apple/ cinnamon . peanut m&m,s , in food processor. and 2 tsp of vin, x. OMG, these don't even make it to the cooling rack, my husband was all over them, gone in one nite. soooo delisssshh food is the way to win a mans heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanney Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I tried these. I was looking for something different than Toll House choc cookies, I don't really like those. I thought these were very good. I pretty much followed the directions and I did blend the oatmeal into a flour. I'm no genius but I think those that said they are dry, flakey, bland must have done something wrong; or if you cook something too long it isn't going to come out right. I'm gonna give it 4 stars because the oatmeal taste does come through and the oatmeal gives it a "grainy" texture. Don't get me wrong, I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imapep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 562) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States