Uptown Cowboy Caviar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
This is a wonderful summertime side dish or salad. I often make it a day ahead and it's even better if it is refrigerated overnight. It travels well and is a huge hit everywhere. My sister in law isn't a veggie fan, but even she loves it and asked for the recipe. It's great made as directed or easily modified based on what you prefer or have on hand. Love love love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I tried this recipe as written and served it with dipping corn chips and Tostitos for a recent party. You really need something substantial to load this dip onto the chip. It had a really good flavor and made a TON. So much leftover I had to think about what to do with it after we got tired of the chip routine. Well I found it makes a wonderful addition to a plain tossed green salad. You don't even need salad dressing, just toss it all together and maybe add some tomatoes. This recipe takes a little work to make. Do not leave out the fresh cilantro, in my opinion that makes the combo all that much better. I will save this recipe for something special but on those occasions where I'm pressed for time, I think the standard cowboy caviar using beans, corn, salsa and Italian dressing works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this for Christmas Eve and took to my in-laws and it was a big hit. The only change I made was I added 2 diced avocados and it was even that much better. I agree with some of the other reviews that the sauce could be cut back a bit. I think half the sauce would be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made it exactly as recipe was given. Wonderful... Will find many uses for this. I'm sure it will be good over fish, on a baked potato, etc. I plan to keep some on hand most of the time. Happy that the recipe was shared, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have made a few different 'cowboy caviar / bean salad' recipes. This is by far THE BEST!!!!!! Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I had it at my daughter's Craft Party, then decided to try it for myself. It was a definite hit! I added 1 and a half, huge Avocados which made it even better, almost creamy. Since my hubby's stomach is sensitive to strong chili, I added a small can of diced green chili, perfect. It was truly enjoyed. When I make it again, I plan to experiment again. This time I will add thawed from frozen whole kernel sweet corn, because the corn that was recommended just didn't have enough color. I will include red onions for additional color and flavor, as well as, kidney beans for more bulk. I think this CbC is good enough to add to just about any dish. I may try it with fish, fish tacos or on the side. No matter which way you serve it, it is so very tasty. The grandchildren were happy with a spoon and a little bowl each, as did my older brother (who swears he doesn't eat vegetables)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Benites

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made this for our tailgate this past weekend and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. The chopping takes a while but it's worth it. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Everyone loved this! It was so good I ate it for lunch the next day. I used bottled balsamic vinaigrette and squeezed in some fresh lemon juice instead of the homemade dressing. I also swapped chick peas for the pinto beans. I felt it needed something so I added cumin. Just perfect to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this recipe as written. I don't find it helpful to give a recipe a 5-star rating when you change too many of the ingredients. The only thing I did not like about this was the homemade dressing. It was just too sweet for my taste. I prefer the versions that have a little more tangy flavor. With some tweaking on the dressing it would be better. The vegetable and bean combination was nice and it was a very pretty dish. I was surprised that I would like the pinto beans. Never saw Cowboy Caviar with anything other than black beans and black eyed peas. I did think it was a bit too much corn. Would probably use a cup of frozen corn next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I know its a salsa but its so darn good I sometimes eat it as a side!! :-) I get requests to make this for events or just cause at home. Great and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Caviar I

Black beans and black-eyed peas are marinated in a fiery dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States