Upside Down Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
As written, I'd probably give this recipe 3 stars... I'm not sure. I followed the directions, however I made this change: I make curries a lot, and the idea of just adding curry powder/spices to water seemed like madness to me. I also wanted to double the spices, so I decided to split the difference. I put half of my spices into the beef/onion mixture when the beef was mostly cooked to fry the spices (the way I'm used to preparing curry spices), and I added half of the spices to the boiling water, as the recipe suggests. Basically I followed the recipe exactly, but fried another batch of the spices with the beef. I also stirred the rice around in the fried curry/onion/beef oils on gentle heat before adding the water. This came out deliciously! Oh, and be careful to set your heat fairly low during the rice-cooking part of the process (On my stove I set it at about 3.5/10). It will still simmer with lower heat, but if you don't put the heat pretty low and stir occasionally it will probably burn on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was very easy to make, made a lot, and was good. I wouldn't call it spectacular but ground beef and rice with cauliflower it can only be so good. It was a little bland but still very flavorful. I think this is something kids could really go for. Sort of comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was edible, but anything I'd make again. Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oroville, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I agree with the other reviews...Cook time is not long enough. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I was kind of disappointed in this recipe. After reading reviews, I doubled up most of the spices, but it still tasted bland. I also needed to add more water, because the rice didn't fully cook and then burned on the bottom of the pan. It was okay, but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
followed the recipe (did use the microwave to boil the spiced water) and i'm sold! i am no expert cook, but i enjoyed going past my comfort level with this recipe.... after five ingridients i get nervous! but this recipe was so much fun to make, and it turned out PERFECT, i'll be looking for more middle eastern dishes to try out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms. read

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I thought this was just ok. I doubled the spices and it was still a big bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I did this with brown rice and frozen cauliflower and it came out really nice. With the brown rice you need a bit more water and the cook time is longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Just made this according to the recipe and everyone in the family liked it. I was worried when I did a "taste test" of the water with spices added, thinking it would be too spicy, but when added to the meat, cauliflower, and rice it comes out just fine. I might even increase the curry powder a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycows
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Overall this recipe was pretty good, I loved being able to combine the cauliflower, beef and rice with a curried flavor. I halved the recipe and I don't know if that made the difference or not but it lacked the full flavor I was expecting. I will make this again but I think I will double most of the spices (especially the curry and tumeric!). I would also like to try this without the meat too - it would make a great vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States