Upside Down Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was my first turkey. It turned out great!! So juicy and tender! I usd aple juice instead of water, and I made a rub of 1 stick melted butter, salt, pepper, rubbed sage, garlic powder, and poultry seasoning. I also stuck little pices of butter between the breast and the skin. It was delicious. My husband cant get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
Cooking the turkey upside down does help keep the meat moist. I like to use a cooking bag too because it cooks faster and seems to retain more juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
Made this for an early Thanksgiving with the in-laws....they were surprised. I didn't use as much butter as the recipe called for....but wow what a difference. I also added a sprinkling of poultry seasonings to the skin....which made it delicious. Also, I rubbed some butter between the skin and the flesh. I have found that really makes a difference. Thanks for helping me to impress my in-laws....appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Very moist, tender and flavorful. I cooked the turkey upside down until the last hour and then turned it right side up to brown the top. Very good and easy. Although mine did take an extra hour and a half to cook completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I haven't tried this exact method yet, but I'm embarrassed to say that the first time my husband and I had a Thanksgiving Dinner at our house, we accidently cooked our turkey upside down. It turned out so moist that we do it every year now! If' you're careful, you can actually turn the bird over for the last 45 minutes of cooking and get the nice brown skin too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was super. The only thing I changed was to cook in a cooking bag, salt & pepper inside and outside of turkey and stuff butter in between skin and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I will never go back. This is the only way to cook a turkey! My guests were very impressed and we fought over the leftovers. I've made it four times and we never have to throw out any leftovers. It all always gets eaten. I've noticed you don't have to use all that much butter: 1/4 cup is fine. I also add veggies to the cavity and the roasting pan. Brining the bird gives the thighs great flavor, so I do that too. Even without those changes, though, this a delicious turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
We BBQ'd our turkey upside down this Thanksgiving for the first time. We usally just BBQ it the "regular" way. The turkey was so tender it almost fell apart. It was wonderful! We will never cook turkey any other way again. Only change I did was I made up some Herb Butter. I mixed chopped fresh sage, rosemary and tyme and garlic with melted butter the night before. I then separated the skin and stuffed the butter between the meat and skin. I put fresh sprigs of the Herbs in the cavity with butter. Rubbed the turkey with olive oil. And on the grill he went. Upside down. I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I had to add a can of chicken broth as well, but the upside down idea made the entire turkey really moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had to work untitl 430 one Thanksgiving, and I left my friends in charge of cooking the turkey that year, I came home to find four men standing around the turkey wondering what they had done wrong. I could tell right away that they had cooked it upside down. To everyones suprise it was the best turkey we had ever eaten!!! I now only cook the bird upside down and in a cooking bag. The bag really speeds up the cooking proccess. You can have 25 pounds cooked in a bout four hours. The turkey does not look as pretty sitting in the middle of the table so I usually carve it and put the slices on a big platter and just leave my guests guessing how I get it so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States