Upside Down Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I had to work untitl 430 one Thanksgiving, and I left my friends in charge of cooking the turkey that year, I came home to find four men standing around the turkey wondering what they had done wrong. I could tell right away that they had cooked it upside down. To everyones suprise it was the best turkey we had ever eaten!!! I now only cook the bird upside down and in a cooking bag. The bag really speeds up the cooking proccess. You can have 25 pounds cooked in a bout four hours. The turkey does not look as pretty sitting in the middle of the table so I usually carve it and put the slices on a big platter and just leave my guests guessing how I get it so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
YUM!!! Best turkey ever. I cooked mine in an oven bag and added pepper and garlic powder. My husband also got a little crazy with the flavor injector. It was SOO moist. Never again will I cook my turkey the other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswingle102081

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Whats funny is I mistakenly put the bird in upside down. Best thing I ever did to a turkey. The meat was so moist I am a fan. I basically smear the much butter in and around the entire turkey. Be sure to separate the skin from the meat and place butter in there as well. Salt and pepper to taste. Place uncovered in oven, wait for 40 minutes then cover lightly with tin foil, then every 25 minutes soak up juices with a basters and spread over turkey generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I forgot this was an upside down recipe when it was time to cook. My 13.5 lb bird was still frozen(yes, frozen). I used a very large cake pan and put the bird on a "rack" of carrots and celery, sprinkled with salt and pepper and put butter, salt, pepper, onion and sage in the cavity. I did also put the pats of butter under the skin. I covered with foil and put in the oven for 3 1/2hours, took off the foil, kicked the temp up to 375 and put it in for an additional 35 minutes. I boiled the neck and giblets with some garlic powder, sage, salt and pepper then used that liquid to baste every hour. FANTASTIC! My first whole turkey ever and I will do this every time. Next time I might remember to do it upside down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Made a fabulous turkey! I made a 13 lb turkey, cooked it upside down for two hours then flipped it right side up and took the foil covering off for 2 hours. It had a nice brown crust. The white meat was amazing. I used the whole stick of butter as directed and put half an apple in the middle too. Will definitely cook this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is the only way to make exceptionally moist turkey! Besides cooking breast side down, I also brine my turkey overnight~12 hours, and use a turkey bag when cooking. Helpful hint: for out of this world gravy, simply stuff the bird with 2 apples halved (I use Granny Smith) 1/2 an orange (skin and all), 1/2 and onion, 1 stick of butter and celery sticks. Discard stuffing after turkey has finished cooking. It's hard to explain, but the apples add a hint of sweetness and overall fresh taste to the gravy-try it, you won't be sorry you did. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganPC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I will never make a turkey any other way again. I have passed this recipe on to everyone I know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This was the juciest turkey I have ever made. It was so delicious, I'll never cook a turkey right-side-up again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wittygrl19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This was SO juicy and tasted great! I thought I would try to flip it the last 45 min as recommended by another review but I was unable to do so so we just left it and it turned out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhoneybear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was awesome! I actually used the seasonings from the "Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way" recipe and cooked the turkey upside down for 3 hours then right side up for 1 at 350 (I had an 18 1/2 pound bird) and it came out amazing! YAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya f

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Upside Down BBQ Meatloaf

See how to make a super-quick and easy meatloaf.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States