Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is as wonderful as everyone proclaims. I have been making it for several years, exactly as written. To go the extra mile, after flipping the cake and letting it cool, try adding home made cream cheese topping: beat 1 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1 t. vanilla; fold in 12 oz. Cool Whip and spread on top and sides of the cake. You can't get any better than this! (In order to "flip" the cake, make sure you have lined the 9 X 13 pan with wax paper and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray; Cool completely in pan, place large platter or cookie sheet on top of 9 X 13 pan and flip; carefully remove wax paper once cake is flipped. . .it really DOES work.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This is a great recipe. I only changed a few things - instead of yellow cake mix, I used a Cinnamon Swirl mix that I found; I used Pumpkin Pie Spice (instead of cinnamon and ground cloves) and walnuts instead of pecans. This turned out great, was easy to do and made the house smell just great on a cold fall evening! Good job, Jacki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
made this yesterday, very very good!!! i was not sure if i had to flip the cake over or not after it cooled? (the recipe did not mention to, but one review did) so i chose not to since i made it in my only cake pan w/lid. it served well right from the pan i baked it in, i just flipped each piece over as i served it onto a plate.so that the pumpkin pie filling then was on the top and the cake-nut crust was on the bottom. i used a non stick pan and sprayed a little non stick spray in it. even chilled it served fine. i also used pumpkin pie spice and some extra ground cinnamon and sugar to taste. great dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
1. Made this again for folks that have never had it and they were e-mailing for the recipe! 2. Everyone loved this. People were begging for the recipe. I made the cake in disposable 13 x 9 containers and gave them away as Christmas presents. 3. Again this year (2008) people were begging me to bring it to the Christmas Potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I just took this cake to an organization potluck - Wow, did I get the compliments, i.e., awesome, scrumptious, delicious, etc.. Of course, I got recipe requests which I was prepared for with extra copies I'd printed after taking a small taste. I brought fresh whipped cream as a topper. I baked this in a glass 9x13 - I mention this because I didn't hear the timer go off and got side tracked. It ended up baking for 1 hr 40 mins.. The pecans were a bit over brown and the contents were firm. But, it didn't seem to "damage" it at all. The only change I made to the recipe was that I added a 1/2 tsp ground ginger. It's going to be hard to top this for future meetings! Thanks Jacki for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar in the filling, as it tasted sweet enough to me while I was making it. You definitely want to let this cool for a couple of hours before you cut into it. That gives it plenty of time to solidify. Try adding a light dusting of brown sugar/cinnamon over the pecans before you pour the butter. So, so good!!!!! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This cake was FABULOUS!! It's like pumpkin pie, but not in a pie crust, because the consistancy is very similar. I saw this recipe on another website (with frosting recipe included), but that cake lacked the addition of any spices. So I tried this one instead, with the only change being to reduce the sugar to 1 cup (as per that other recipe). This cake is so much better if you let it cool for a couple of hours and then flip it onto a platter or cookie sheet, just like you would any other "upside down" cake. That's because the cake mix/pecans/butter work better as a bottom crust, as opposed to them being the "topping." This will also solve the problem mentioned by other reviewers; that the "topping" would get too hard after refrigeration. It won't if you treat it as a bottom crust and flip the cake. The pumpkin will keep that crust moist. And this cake will firm up as it cools and will flip easily IF you lined your pan with waxed paper and coated it with cooking spray. I also spray the pan before lining too, because it just helps to make the waxed paper stick and hold to the pan better. See the review that's dated *Dec. 31, 2007* for great instructions. That reviewer also included the ingredients for a tasty light frosting that's better then your standard whipped cream topping. Mmm... so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S&S's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Rosamond, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I was not at all impressed with this dessert. I expected more from the reviews. Some sort of crust would have helped. The pumpkin portion wasn't as firm as I would have liked and the top portion (cake mix, nuts, and butter) wasn't appealing. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I have made this recipe 3 times, and have never heard such rave reviews. I had several people at a gathering recently go crazy over this, and a couple who actually followed up with me days later to get the recipe. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This receipe was a big hit over Thanksgiving. The pie is very rich, therefore cut in small slices. Set aside optional carmel and whipped cream toppings for a nice final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States