Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is as wonderful as everyone proclaims. I have been making it for several years, exactly as written. To go the extra mile, after flipping the cake and letting it cool, try adding home made cream cheese topping: beat 1 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1 t. vanilla; fold in 12 oz. Cool Whip and spread on top and sides of the cake. You can't get any better than this! (In order to "flip" the cake, make sure you have lined the 9 X 13 pan with wax paper and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray; Cool completely in pan, place large platter or cookie sheet on top of 9 X 13 pan and flip; carefully remove wax paper once cake is flipped. . .it really DOES work.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
What a simple, delicious treat! The only change I will make next time is to add the traditional pumpkin pie spices that I like (cinammon, ginger and all spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was way better than pumpkin pie! I used a cake mix with Splenda and the top crust was very hard so I am not sure if the cake mix was the reason. Still very tasty, though. Enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I'm going to have to be the minority here and say that this cake was gross. The filling was just regular pumpkin pie, which was fine, but all you could taste in the crust was butter. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was A-MAZING! A huge hit at Thanksgiving, and much easier and more tasty than a pumpkin pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and was told it was the best dessert on the table. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. I prefer to eat it cold, but it was also good warmed up with ice cream. It is good for a pot luck because it makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I personally do not eat pumkin(pie,cake). I made this for our Thanksgiving dinner last night and it was hit. I used only 1 1/2 cup of sugar and skipped the pecan and it turned out great. Everyone loved it. Send the recipe home with one friend so I have to print out another for next year's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Very good and very easy! I probably only used about 1/4 cup pecans just for personal preference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Quick and easy devoured by a group of hungry teachers. Made one adjustment, used freshly grated cinnamon, added a bit of a bite. Served with freshly whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
my mother, who is the hardest sell I've ever met, loved this! actually ASKED me to make it. Instead of one 9 by 13, I made 10 individual portions in some deep dish pie dishes. It worked great, but the melted butter ran off a bit. Maybe will try just putting hard butter pieces all over the cake mix and let it melt down in the oven or something. Other than that, these are fabulous, and I'll make them again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States