Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
The pumpkin part of this dessert was very good..used 2 cans of pure pumpkin since that is what I had on hand. However the crust was way too rich, and I only used one stick of butter, a cup would've been way too much. One of my guest could not even eat the crust, and even my sons said it was too rich. However some of my guest loved it and ate seconds. I don't think I'll make again, but would try the crust with a light butter if I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Made for Thanksgiving. As other stated nice change from the regular pumpkin pie. Good anytime as an every day dessert. No changes were made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wv_mtnr_cook_78

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Got rave reviews. Even the kids under 4 liked it. One tip, definitely use unsalted butter. I only had salted on hand and the topping was too salty for my taste, even tho everyone else liked it. Also, don't try to flip this cake like other upside down cakes. The crunchy pecan topping is pretty in the pan and the pumpkin on the bottom is mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This dish is too good! The only thing I changed was I added a little ginger & nutmeg (personal taste). There's no way I could ever flip this out of the pan, but it's no big deal to me! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moondusted

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was delicious! I made it for Christmas and it got rave reviews and many requests for the recipe....and no you dont turn it upside down as another review suggested. Just serve it up right out of the dish. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This is wonderful. However, I did have to bake it another 15 minutes, as the pumpkin filling was just too soggy, even though it was a bit warm still. After the additional time, it firmed up nicely. But there is no WAY I could have turned this out of the pan, as one reviewer stated--she even said she frosted it with cream cheese frosting! Given the Upside Down Pumpkin Cake's relatively soft consistency, this HAD to be another recipe she/he was talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
awsome! made this at my work for our dessert lunch and we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Unquestionably better than plain pumpkin pie. The taste of this "crust" is worth the calories! I used 1/2 tsp. salt (some recipes call for 1 tsp.) and added 1 tsp. ginger to make it taste like my favorite pumpkin pie. One-and-a-half cups sugar was what I used. I plan to increase next time the cinnamon to 3 tsp for more "oomph". The pecans--amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is as wonderful as everyone proclaims. I have been making it for several years, exactly as written. To go the extra mile, after flipping the cake and letting it cool, try adding home made cream cheese topping: beat 1 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar, 1 t. vanilla; fold in 12 oz. Cool Whip and spread on top and sides of the cake. You can't get any better than this! (In order to "flip" the cake, make sure you have lined the 9 X 13 pan with wax paper and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray; Cool completely in pan, place large platter or cookie sheet on top of 9 X 13 pan and flip; carefully remove wax paper once cake is flipped. . .it really DOES work.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
What a simple, delicious treat! The only change I will make next time is to add the traditional pumpkin pie spices that I like (cinammon, ginger and all spice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States