Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This cake was FABULOUS!! It's like pumpkin pie, but not in a pie crust, because the consistancy is very similar. I saw this recipe on another website (with frosting recipe included), but that cake lacked the addition of any spices. So I tried this one instead, with the only change being to reduce the sugar to 1 cup (as per that other recipe). This cake is so much better if you let it cool for a couple of hours and then flip it onto a platter or cookie sheet, just like you would any other "upside down" cake. That's because the cake mix/pecans/butter work better as a bottom crust, as opposed to them being the "topping." This will also solve the problem mentioned by other reviewers; that the "topping" would get too hard after refrigeration. It won't if you treat it as a bottom crust and flip the cake. The pumpkin will keep that crust moist. And this cake will firm up as it cools and will flip easily IF you lined your pan with waxed paper and coated it with cooking spray. I also spray the pan before lining too, because it just helps to make the waxed paper stick and hold to the pan better. See the review that's dated *Dec. 31, 2007* for great instructions. That reviewer also included the ingredients for a tasty light frosting that's better then your standard whipped cream topping. Mmm... so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S&S's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Rosamond, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Delicious! served this at a fall birthday dinner and all seven of us agreed that it is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
One of my favorite recipes! I've been making this for several years, and it's now requested more than regular pumpkin pie by my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was a huge hit at my office. Everyone had at least two helpings. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I am not a dessert person but this is the best dessert I have EVER tasted. The consistency of the upside down crust is very delicious and it is now a family tradition to have this at our holiday meals. The only substitution I make is that I use walnuts instead of pecans and I leave out the cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Got a similar recipe off the top of an egg carton 20 years ago. I wasn't going to make it after all those years for the holidays, but my son called, the morning of the holiday, and said did you make your special pumpkin desert. Off I went to the store to get the supplies for it. Had it whipped up in no time and popped it in the oven. By the time we had it for desert it was just wonderful. Quite often it is almost gone before dinner. Most of the time I keep all the ingredients on hand for the holiday season. I omit the cloves is is just our preference. I have used margarine but butter is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I made this for a potluck at work and everybody loved it! I will be making this again for years to come! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Made this recipe for some friends visiting for the day. It was fabulous. The only change I made was to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups like some other reviewers mentioned. My friends took the recipe with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I wanted to make something new, and we love pumpkin, wow...was I glad that I tried this one, it is Ohhhh, soooo goood!I made this exactly as written, and it came out perfectly, it was everything I had hoped it would be! It is much more exciting and tasy than eating just plain pumpkin pie and I love pumpkin pie! I can't say enough about how happy I am to have stumbled across this recipe, it will be a family favorite for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My family and I LOVE this recipe! It works every time. You can leave the pecans off if you like, and it makes more than nine servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States