Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MrStacy
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving at a friends house, WHAT A HIT! I was asked for the recipe and complimented by everyone. I used the hint from the review dated Dec. 31, 2007 for lining the pan with waxpaper and for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrStacy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I am changing the recipe up a bit, instead of a yellow cake mix, using a chocolate.....hmmmm hope it works. Has anyone else done it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good recipe! I like to make a few changes to this. First of all, I use 2 8 inch circle pans instead of a 9 x 13. That way, I can do one without pecans for those who don't like nuts. I add 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and use 1 cup brown sugar plus 1/2 cup white sugar. I invert the cakes onto nice serving plates, and pipe whipped cream onto the top - this helps to cover up the not-so-great looking pumpkin part. Lastly, extra whipped cream on the side for those who like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I'm sorry to say I didn't really like this cake. I made it for Thanksgiving last year (2010), and others said they enjoyed it, but I wasn't really too fond of it. The cake/pecan crust was awesome, but the pumpkin part tasted kind of bland...just a lightly sweetened version of pumpkin filling. I probably won't make this again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Oh Wow! I made this recipe exactly like it says to and it was easy and great! I like pumpkin anyway, but this was extremely good. I will be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
this is one cake receipe i wont bother to make again. got receipe from a friend, made it and it just was too mushy, however she neglected to tell me it had to be inverted once done. Even so it wasnt a real crowd please with the family. Not sure what the other reviewers did to score it in the 5 range, but for me its a thumbs down. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Soooo good! I've been making this cake every thanksgiving for the past 10 years and everyone loves it!! I love this so much because I am not a big fan of traditional pie crust because it's always so dry and takes away from the taste of the filling, but with this recipe the crumb topping complements the pumpkin and gives it an extra sweetness that I just love!! I would have lots of complaints if this treat wasnt at our dessert table on thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
SOOO tasty! Everytime I make this, I have to plan on handing out the recipe. Thank you very much for sharing :-) I must say, I did try and make it into individual loaves...it did not workout that well. Since the recipe is super moist, it would not hold together all that well. The wax paper tip did help however :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINK75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maumee, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brandiswan23
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I couldn't find cake mix w/ pudding so I bought pudding separate and then sifted the cake mix and pudding together over the pumpkin mixture. It was good but I think it would have been better if it had a whipped cream topping on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandiswan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Indiana, USA
Living In: Linton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I got enthusiastic reviews, and it's simplicity itself! done in a sec, and everybody going on and on saying how light it was and how not-too-sweet and how a refreshing novelty...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States