Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Instead of cloves I used nutmeg. Not a fan of cloves. And instead of yellow cake I used double fudge cake. It came out really tasty. Had the nuts all crushed and ready to go. But I forgot to sprinkle them on. Def will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Delicious! We had some people who didn't love pumpkin and they thought this was great. It did gel up nicely and though it looked kind of awkward on top, it was great as soon as you delve in. As for changes, I added some dried cranberries between the pumpkin layer and the cake mix layer. I used a sugar/stevia blend and things worked out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I loved it but the topping was a bit too sweet, next time I'll omit the pudding mix. But it taste really good with vanilla ice cream. I used a golden butter cake mix instead of yellow, and I used all spice and cinnamon. I also used less sugar then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDA BALLARD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
OMG! I make a lot of cakes, but this is by far the best I've ever made. My husband said "i hope you make this once a week for the rest of our lives." My nieces who are super picky were taking seconds. It's a little odd when your making it, you think it will be too liquidy, but it really works out well. I'd change nothing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Yummy. Potluck goers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I was not happy with the flavor of this cake or the texture. I think the spices used left a lot to be desired. The pumpkin portion was too soft and pie-like. There was an unpleasant after taste. Won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This turned out great. I used 2 15oz cans of pumpkin, 1 cup of brown sugar, tsp. with ginger, 3 tbsp cinnamon and tsp. nutmeg in the filling. I chopped pecans and cut cold butter into the cake mix. Served with vanilla ice cream, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Cannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was just ok to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was a little nervous about the pumpkin on the bottom, but after tasting it I had to say it was delish! Not that pretty, but as each day went by it got better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
i made for Christmas dinner. When my family and friends taste it. it was like having heaven in there mouth. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Velez, S.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States