Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I loved it but the topping was a bit too sweet, next time I'll omit the pudding mix. But it taste really good with vanilla ice cream. I used a golden butter cake mix instead of yellow, and I used all spice and cinnamon. I also used less sugar then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDA BALLARD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
OMG! I make a lot of cakes, but this is by far the best I've ever made. My husband said "i hope you make this once a week for the rest of our lives." My nieces who are super picky were taking seconds. It's a little odd when your making it, you think it will be too liquidy, but it really works out well. I'd change nothing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Yummy. Potluck goers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I was not happy with the flavor of this cake or the texture. I think the spices used left a lot to be desired. The pumpkin portion was too soft and pie-like. There was an unpleasant after taste. Won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This turned out great. I used 2 15oz cans of pumpkin, 1 cup of brown sugar, tsp. with ginger, 3 tbsp cinnamon and tsp. nutmeg in the filling. I chopped pecans and cut cold butter into the cake mix. Served with vanilla ice cream, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was just ok to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was a little nervous about the pumpkin on the bottom, but after tasting it I had to say it was delish! Not that pretty, but as each day went by it got better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
i made for Christmas dinner. When my family and friends taste it. it was like having heaven in there mouth. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this recipe for the past 3 yrs for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVES it. I add more pecans (2-3 CUPS) and it tastes like pumpkin/pecan pie=YUM. The only thing I am going to do different next time is maybe bake the pumpkin mixture for maybe 15-20 minutes then put the topping on and bake. I thought the pumpkin mixture needed to cook-firm up more without burning the topping. I'm wondering if I could use the topping for a apple crisp type dessert? Have to try it sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Liked this recipe b/c it has twice the pumpkin as some of the others out there. Added 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Accidentally used chopped walnuts, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States