Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I loved it but the topping was a bit too sweet, next time I'll omit the pudding mix. But it taste really good with vanilla ice cream. I used a golden butter cake mix instead of yellow, and I used all spice and cinnamon. I also used less sugar then the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMANDA BALLARD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
OMG! I make a lot of cakes, but this is by far the best I've ever made. My husband said "i hope you make this once a week for the rest of our lives." My nieces who are super picky were taking seconds. It's a little odd when your making it, you think it will be too liquidy, but it really works out well. I'd change nothing about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Yummy. Potluck goers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I was not happy with the flavor of this cake or the texture. I think the spices used left a lot to be desired. The pumpkin portion was too soft and pie-like. There was an unpleasant after taste. Won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This turned out great. I used 2 15oz cans of pumpkin, 1 cup of brown sugar, tsp. with ginger, 3 tbsp cinnamon and tsp. nutmeg in the filling. I chopped pecans and cut cold butter into the cake mix. Served with vanilla ice cream, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Cannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was just ok to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was a little nervous about the pumpkin on the bottom, but after tasting it I had to say it was delish! Not that pretty, but as each day went by it got better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
i made for Christmas dinner. When my family and friends taste it. it was like having heaven in there mouth. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I made this recipe for the past 3 yrs for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVES it. I add more pecans (2-3 CUPS) and it tastes like pumpkin/pecan pie=YUM. The only thing I am going to do different next time is maybe bake the pumpkin mixture for maybe 15-20 minutes then put the topping on and bake. I thought the pumpkin mixture needed to cook-firm up more without burning the topping. I'm wondering if I could use the topping for a apple crisp type dessert? Have to try it sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Liked this recipe b/c it has twice the pumpkin as some of the others out there. Added 1/2 tsp allspice, 1/2 tsp nutmeg. Accidentally used chopped walnuts, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States