Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This receipe was a big hit over Thanksgiving. The pie is very rich, therefore cut in small slices. Set aside optional carmel and whipped cream toppings for a nice final touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
All I can say is, "WOW". If you like pumpkin pie, this is pumpkin Nervana. It tastes like a pumpkin pie topped with a praline cookie crust. I will be making this instead of pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
Great Cake! I made this cake for our Thanksgiving lunch-on on 11/16/01. Everyone loved it! Let me just say we had alot of pumkin pie left overs. I will be making another one for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I do not care for pie crust so this recipe has been a favorite of mine for years! If you want to desert that will get your guests attention this is the one! I find it is best after it has been in the fridge for a day topped with whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I just took this cake to an organization potluck - Wow, did I get the compliments, i.e., awesome, scrumptious, delicious, etc.. Of course, I got recipe requests which I was prepared for with extra copies I'd printed after taking a small taste. I brought fresh whipped cream as a topper. I baked this in a glass 9x13 - I mention this because I didn't hear the timer go off and got side tracked. It ended up baking for 1 hr 40 mins.. The pecans were a bit over brown and the contents were firm. But, it didn't seem to "damage" it at all. The only change I made to the recipe was that I added a 1/2 tsp ground ginger. It's going to be hard to top this for future meetings! Thanks Jacki for sharing this great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I used walnuts instead of pecans and added 1tsp nutmeg. Thanks for sharing received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
This is easy to make and wonderful. If possible, serve a few hours after making it. Outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
Easy as pie! Even better than it too! I made this recipe for a party at a friend's house and all I got were raves and tons of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSANMARCO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
I found this recipe very good, the only thing I changed was that I used less cake mix on top. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
I have found this cake to be very rich so a little goes a long way. Those who like it, love it and want the recipe. It is quick and easy to make and certainly makes any event more festive. It is good with Cool Whip or other whipped topping on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States