Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This cake is absolutely fantastic! Everyone will love it! I used pumpkin pie spice with a little cinnamon; no cloves. I used walnuts. I will never make a pumpkin pie again. Make this if you want to impress everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was to die for! Perfect warm with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream (or whipped cream). It doesn't say to flip the cake in the recipe, so I didn't...I didn't change a thing! It's my mom's favorite thing of mine. She requests it at ALL family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This cake was good but the top was way too sugary for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
Husband took this to company banquet and the next day had 4 people wanting the recipe. Make sure cake mix is spread evenly. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
VERY GOOD. NEXT TIME I WILL INCREASE THE TOPPING SO THERE IS A THICK LATER OVER THE CAKE. VERY TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
Delicious, delicious. Easy to make and a wonderful dish for the holidays. I tested it last weekend on some friends. Had to give them the recipe, now anxious to try it on family at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Loved it! Only wish there was a good low-cal version...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
This will definitely replace pumpking pie at Thanksgiving. I did make two changes. I cut the sugar back to 1 cup and cut the melted butter down to 1/2 cup. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
Now this isn't a pretty recipe, but once it reaches your mouth you won't mind. We are all big fans of pumpkin pie and this just put's it over the top! We like it best a little warm with a small scoop of vanilla icecream or a little cold cream on top. Yummy, yummy, good! Barb in BC Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I originally wrote this recipe down in my car while listening to the KNX Food News Hour with Jackie Olden in the early 80's. I made it and everyone loved it so much that I was chosen to make it every Thanksgiving after that, which I faithfully did until a few years ago when I somehow lost the recipe. I've been sitting here for 2 hours searching for this recipe - not the first time I've tried to search for it, but finally came across the original recipe. Yea! I remembered most of the recipe from memory, but was a bit fuzzy on the filling (though I used a standard filling once when I first lost the original) and some of the quantities. I am so glad that I can now go back to the REAL recipe, and you can bet that I won't lose it again. In fact, it will be added to a cookbook we are putting together as a fundraiser for next year. That way it will always be available, and the number of people who know about it will grow. I think it should be the standard (and only) pumpkin pie made for the holidays. Thank you, Rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States