Upside Down Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This came out too gooey for us. I was expecting a consistency more like cake. The flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubry Canales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
1. Made this again for folks that have never had it and they were e-mailing for the recipe! 2. Everyone loved this. People were begging for the recipe. I made the cake in disposable 13 x 9 containers and gave them away as Christmas presents. 3. Again this year (2008) people were begging me to bring it to the Christmas Potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Awesome! Everyone that tasted it, enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Wow! What a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
THIS IS PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST RECIPES I'VE EVER MADE FROM THIS SITE.I FALLOWED THE RECIPE EXACT-MADE SURE TO COVER THE ENTIRE TOP WITH THE CAKE MIX(WHICH WAS NO PROBLEM THEIR WAS PLENTY)AND I THOUGHT IT TURNED OUT GORGEOUS-NOT FLASHY BUT A RUSTIC LOOK TO IT.THE TOPPING IS WHAT KICKS THIS OVER THE TOP-A SALTY SWEETNESS TO IT THATS SUPERB(THE NUTS I USED WERE THE KIND CALLED FOR BUT I FOUND A SMALL BAG IN THE STORE THAT WAS CALLED "CHIPS"VERY TINY TO KEEP WITH THE CREAMY TEXTURE OF EVERYTHING ELSE).MY HUSBANDS FAVORITE IS PUMPKIN PIE SO HE WAS SKEPTICAL BUT WAS RAVING ABOUT IT BY THE END OF PIECE 1 AND WENT BACK FOR SECONDS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
made this yesterday, very very good!!! i was not sure if i had to flip the cake over or not after it cooled? (the recipe did not mention to, but one review did) so i chose not to since i made it in my only cake pan w/lid. it served well right from the pan i baked it in, i just flipped each piece over as i served it onto a plate.so that the pumpkin pie filling then was on the top and the cake-nut crust was on the bottom. i used a non stick pan and sprayed a little non stick spray in it. even chilled it served fine. i also used pumpkin pie spice and some extra ground cinnamon and sugar to taste. great dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is excellent. I made a test run before Thanksgiving, and then made it again for Thanksgiving. It smells fabulous cooking, and tastes even better. The cake and nuts at the bottom is the best. I've given this to about 30 people and everybody has loved it. Better than pumpkin pie by a landslide. Make sure you let it cool fully before flipping, and then smooth out the bumps with a rubber spatula. Only possible complaint is that it isn't the prettiest thing in the world, but with whip cream on top you can't tell anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I was a Little dissapointed with this recipe. I was expecting more of a cake. The top was sort-of pumkin pie and the bottom was WAY to sweet. I also had chunks of uncooked cake mix in the topping. Didnt like this overall. The pumkin part was good though, which is why im giving 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I love pumpkin pie and I always wanted to try baking one. This was super easy to make and very yummy! I loved it! Since the yellow cake mix is sweet and I love eating this with some ice cream, so I might put less sugar next time, but it’s just my personal preference and this pie is delicious as it is without changing anything. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States