Upside Down Pear Gingerbread Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I loved the flavor but had to make it 3 times before perfecting it. It needs to cook a lot longer than 50 minutes or comes out really gooey in the middle. I would suggest another 15-20 minutes. Great with whipped cream on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I doubled the spices, doubled the pears, and didn't let it cool completely before turning out the 2nd time I made it. I like the gooyey stuff sinking down into the cake - although 1st time I made it, when I did let it cool, it was still very moist. Just lacked the flavor and dense texture I wanted. I also put sliced ginger pieces over the butter/sugar before the pears. I LOVE ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Made it exactly as directed. Came out perfect and cake was moist. I used a springform pan and found out I should have covered bottom of pan to prevent leaks. That was my fault, the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I have never reviewed on this site, but I felt compelled to after trying this recipe. The flavor is wonderful! My cake came out moist, not dry at all. This was also very easy with very little clean up. I did use a regular round cake pan (the caramel will probably leak with a springfoam), and I lined the bottom with parchment paper so that the glaze didn't stick. I couldn't appreciate the pear flavor as much as I would have liked, so next time I will use fresh instead of canned. This will be a staple cake for the holidays! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Unlike the first 2 reviews our family loved this recipe. My husband said it was the best he has ever had. The only thing I changed up is I didn't use the cloves as we r not fans and instead used allspice and 2 tablespoons of purée ginger. Served with whip cream and was fantastic. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I have to disagree with other reviewers. We all thought this was excellent. The spicy flavour was fantastic with the juicyness of the pears. I made 0 changes to this. Served it with whipped cream infused with pear juice. One suggestion-don't do this in a springform pan, it will leak and make a mess of your oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
If you don't like the flavor of molasses and gingerbread A LOT, don't make this. It's a pretty cake, but it didn't hold together too well once it came out of the springform pan. If I were to make this again, I think I'd try cutting back a bit on the molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This cake was ok. The pear and brown sugar topping was really good, but the cake itself was lacking in flavor and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States