Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
What a great cake! It's moist, light, not too sweet and has an absolutely delicious caramelized top. I used a deep angel food cake pan which worked perfectly. I also followed other reviewers suggestions and lined a pan with foil for the cake pan to sit on. Great for clean up! I found that using that kind of pan meant I only had to bake it for 65 minutes so be sure and check for doneness sooner than indicated in the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I used blueberries and got terrific compliments! Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I covered a cookie sheet in tin foil and placed the pan on top of that. It was so nice to just throw that mess in the garbage.. The cake itself was really nice, I used peach and raspberry. Next time I'm thinking of putting peach inside the cake, raspberry on top and less caramel. I also think I'll cut the recipe in half and put it in a springform-bundt pan, just so it looks nicer. The women at work all loved this recipe and I will make it often. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THEMARLATTS
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This cake was delicious! We made it with thawed, frozen peaches and it was just beautiful. When first reading the recipe I thought 90 minutes was a long time and it might come out "tough" but it was absolutely perfect. I thought about giving this recipe a 4 because it was such a mess (the sauce leaked out of the springform pan, through the foil I wrapped it in, and baked onto the bottom of my oven), but in the end the flavor and uniqueness of the dish pushed it up to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is great. I used a 9" springform and a 6" cake pan. Doing this helped to prevent the overflow problem but I still used a foil lined pan to catch anything seeping from the springform I cooked the 9" 70 mins at 325, 6" about 60 mins at the same temp. This is a keeper recipe. I may add additional complimentary spices next time I use peaches (I used frozen) for the cake. It's moist and I'll make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
A *huge* hit with everyone! I've made this about 6 times now and have found that as long as you make sure the cake batter is level with the cake pan you're using (before you put it in the oven), it'll cook to perfection with the least amount of mess. I use frozen peaches on top and fold about 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries into the cake batter. I find that frozen fruit works best; try and pick a 'sturdy' fruit for the top (tried frozen strawberries once and they went to virtual mush).I *triple* wrap my pan with aluminum foil and put it on a cookie sheet for extra spillage. I have an old school springform pan that doesn't have the buckles, which seems to work better than a regular springform pan. Be *very* careful when lifting off the aluminum foil from the pan; the caramel sauce is very hot! This is totally a keeper! Thanks for a scrumptuous recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Taste is awsome, presentation not so great...my cake cracked, maybe I left it in to long (83 minutes)...Very Very good and well worth the baking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
very good I well make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this this weekend and it was a hit for my 18 year old son who doesn't like sweets and my boyfriend who does. I read the reviews and decided to make it in two pans, it came out good but would have been ok to make in one pan. I think my pan is deep enough to support the full amount. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I used apples, otherwise followed recipe exactly. I thought the cake was a bit dense, but my hubby loved it! Maybe if I used a lighter oil instead of solid fat, it could lighten up the cake a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States