Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
A *huge* hit with everyone! I've made this about 6 times now and have found that as long as you make sure the cake batter is level with the cake pan you're using (before you put it in the oven), it'll cook to perfection with the least amount of mess. I use frozen peaches on top and fold about 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries into the cake batter. I find that frozen fruit works best; try and pick a 'sturdy' fruit for the top (tried frozen strawberries once and they went to virtual mush).I *triple* wrap my pan with aluminum foil and put it on a cookie sheet for extra spillage. I have an old school springform pan that doesn't have the buckles, which seems to work better than a regular springform pan. Be *very* careful when lifting off the aluminum foil from the pan; the caramel sauce is very hot! This is totally a keeper! Thanks for a scrumptuous recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I used a 9x13 pan for about 50 minutes and it came out perfect. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
What a great cake! It's moist, light, not too sweet and has an absolutely delicious caramelized top. I used a deep angel food cake pan which worked perfectly. I also followed other reviewers suggestions and lined a pan with foil for the cake pan to sit on. Great for clean up! I found that using that kind of pan meant I only had to bake it for 65 minutes so be sure and check for doneness sooner than indicated in the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I made this with peaches and my family thought it was very good. Watch the temperature, though; I only had to bake it for 75 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I substituted a raspberry/marionberry/blueberry mix for the peaches, calorie-free sweetener for sugar, and egg substitute for eggs, and the recipe was still fabulous! I also halved the recipe, because I cooked for just me husband and myself (cooking time was just 45 minutes). I used a 9" springform pan, and even though I wrapped foil around it, as soon as I inverted the cake after baking, berry juice dripped everywhere, making quite a mess for me to clean up. However, the flavor and texture were fabulous - and light vanilla ice cream made a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I covered a cookie sheet in tin foil and placed the pan on top of that. It was so nice to just throw that mess in the garbage.. The cake itself was really nice, I used peach and raspberry. Next time I'm thinking of putting peach inside the cake, raspberry on top and less caramel. I also think I'll cut the recipe in half and put it in a springform-bundt pan, just so it looks nicer. The women at work all loved this recipe and I will make it often. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Fantastic. I made the cake portion as directed, and thought it was perfect. In the baking recipes I'm familiar with brown sugar is measured "packed", so I did that for the topping here too - that gave a little too much to the (heavenly) sauce, next time I'll just measure the two cups out - chalk that up to the inexperienced baker. I also didn't bother to measure the peaches, just sliced and arranged them until the pan was full which seemed to work wonderfully. Not having the deep 10" pan I used an 8x11, which JUST BARELY held the cake and still leaked some sauce in the oven: a 9x13 should work great next time. The 8x11 needed just under an hour for bake time. Very rich, satisfying, impressive and simple enough to turn out - thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I made this cake to send out to the field. Everybody loved it and it turned out great. I used canned peaches and just drained them well instead of fresh... was a smashing hit... thanks for recipe... my boyfriend rated it a 9.8... he doesn't give tens... was told to make sure i put this one in my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I made this this weekend and it was a hit for my 18 year old son who doesn't like sweets and my boyfriend who does. I read the reviews and decided to make it in two pans, it came out good but would have been ok to make in one pan. I think my pan is deep enough to support the full amount. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
AMAZING!!! one of the best peach cakes I've ever baked. But be warned my kitchen turned into hell after baking this cake, be prepared...amazingly huge and delicious dont ever half this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzy

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States