Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
Excellent cake, even without the fruit & carmel topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
I substituted a raspberry/marionberry/blueberry mix for the peaches, calorie-free sweetener for sugar, and egg substitute for eggs, and the recipe was still fabulous! I also halved the recipe, because I cooked for just me husband and myself (cooking time was just 45 minutes). I used a 9" springform pan, and even though I wrapped foil around it, as soon as I inverted the cake after baking, berry juice dripped everywhere, making quite a mess for me to clean up. However, the flavor and texture were fabulous - and light vanilla ice cream made a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I made this with peaches and my family thought it was very good. Watch the temperature, though; I only had to bake it for 75 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I used blueberries and got terrific compliments! Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I covered a cookie sheet in tin foil and placed the pan on top of that. It was so nice to just throw that mess in the garbage.. The cake itself was really nice, I used peach and raspberry. Next time I'm thinking of putting peach inside the cake, raspberry on top and less caramel. I also think I'll cut the recipe in half and put it in a springform-bundt pan, just so it looks nicer. The women at work all loved this recipe and I will make it often. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THEMARLATTS
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This cake was delicious! We made it with thawed, frozen peaches and it was just beautiful. When first reading the recipe I thought 90 minutes was a long time and it might come out "tough" but it was absolutely perfect. I thought about giving this recipe a 4 because it was such a mess (the sauce leaked out of the springform pan, through the foil I wrapped it in, and baked onto the bottom of my oven), but in the end the flavor and uniqueness of the dish pushed it up to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is great. I used a 9" springform and a 6" cake pan. Doing this helped to prevent the overflow problem but I still used a foil lined pan to catch anything seeping from the springform I cooked the 9" 70 mins at 325, 6" about 60 mins at the same temp. This is a keeper recipe. I may add additional complimentary spices next time I use peaches (I used frozen) for the cake. It's moist and I'll make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
A *huge* hit with everyone! I've made this about 6 times now and have found that as long as you make sure the cake batter is level with the cake pan you're using (before you put it in the oven), it'll cook to perfection with the least amount of mess. I use frozen peaches on top and fold about 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries into the cake batter. I find that frozen fruit works best; try and pick a 'sturdy' fruit for the top (tried frozen strawberries once and they went to virtual mush).I *triple* wrap my pan with aluminum foil and put it on a cookie sheet for extra spillage. I have an old school springform pan that doesn't have the buckles, which seems to work better than a regular springform pan. Be *very* careful when lifting off the aluminum foil from the pan; the caramel sauce is very hot! This is totally a keeper! Thanks for a scrumptuous recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Taste is awsome, presentation not so great...my cake cracked, maybe I left it in to long (83 minutes)...Very Very good and well worth the baking time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
very good I well make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States