Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This was delicious! I used frozen peaches for mine. I baked it for 55 mins in a 9x13 pan due to only have a 9 inch springform and the last time I tried a recipe that needed the 10 inch in the 9 it did not end well.. lol. It came out great! I personally would add more spice to the batter next time. It just needed a little something. But it was a great cake, otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Wonderful cake. I followed the recipe with the exception of using a 9" springform pan and a little (maybe 3"?) springform pan as well. I wrapped my bigger pan in three layers of foil, but it still dripped some onto the oven floor. The smaller pan made a cute little cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I have made this cake as directed and I have halved the recipe. The cake came out perfect both ways. Watch the cooking time it is easy to overcoock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Fantastic. I made the cake portion as directed, and thought it was perfect. In the baking recipes I'm familiar with brown sugar is measured "packed", so I did that for the topping here too - that gave a little too much to the (heavenly) sauce, next time I'll just measure the two cups out - chalk that up to the inexperienced baker. I also didn't bother to measure the peaches, just sliced and arranged them until the pan was full which seemed to work wonderfully. Not having the deep 10" pan I used an 8x11, which JUST BARELY held the cake and still leaked some sauce in the oven: a 9x13 should work great next time. The 8x11 needed just under an hour for bake time. Very rich, satisfying, impressive and simple enough to turn out - thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is a wonderful cake. I used too small of a pan (9 inch square) and had a bubbling over problem with the caramel, so beware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This makes a HUGE cake. I used a big lasagna pan and it didn't overflow. I made mine with one large can of peaches, but wish I had used more fruit and even more topping. It was delicious but we got tired of it after a few days and some of it went in the garbage. Very nice if you have a crowd and some nice vanilla ice cream to serve it with. I will make again when there are more people around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Since this recipe stated that a variety of fruits could be used, I decided to use 3 cups of fresh Mangos, for the fruit. I did everything else exactly as the recipe is written. Mine came out quite well done on the edges, a bit hard & dry, and the center was undercooked. I really couldn't leave it in any longer as it would have scorched the edges. ...I baked the 10" springform in a 350 degree CONVECTION oven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I used a 9x13 pan for about 50 minutes and it came out perfect. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
very good. I made it for work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
What a great cake! It's moist, light, not too sweet and has an absolutely delicious caramelized top. I used a deep angel food cake pan which worked perfectly. I also followed other reviewers suggestions and lined a pan with foil for the cake pan to sit on. Great for clean up! I found that using that kind of pan meant I only had to bake it for 65 minutes so be sure and check for doneness sooner than indicated in the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States