Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Wonderful cake. I followed the recipe with the exception of using a 9" springform pan and a little (maybe 3"?) springform pan as well. I wrapped my bigger pan in three layers of foil, but it still dripped some onto the oven floor. The smaller pan made a cute little cake. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Great recipe. I have made this cake as directed and I have halved the recipe. The cake came out perfect both ways. Watch the cooking time it is easy to overcoock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Fantastic. I made the cake portion as directed, and thought it was perfect. In the baking recipes I'm familiar with brown sugar is measured "packed", so I did that for the topping here too - that gave a little too much to the (heavenly) sauce, next time I'll just measure the two cups out - chalk that up to the inexperienced baker. I also didn't bother to measure the peaches, just sliced and arranged them until the pan was full which seemed to work wonderfully. Not having the deep 10" pan I used an 8x11, which JUST BARELY held the cake and still leaked some sauce in the oven: a 9x13 should work great next time. The 8x11 needed just under an hour for bake time. Very rich, satisfying, impressive and simple enough to turn out - thanks very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This is a wonderful cake. I used too small of a pan (9 inch square) and had a bubbling over problem with the caramel, so beware of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This makes a HUGE cake. I used a big lasagna pan and it didn't overflow. I made mine with one large can of peaches, but wish I had used more fruit and even more topping. It was delicious but we got tired of it after a few days and some of it went in the garbage. Very nice if you have a crowd and some nice vanilla ice cream to serve it with. I will make again when there are more people around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Since this recipe stated that a variety of fruits could be used, I decided to use 3 cups of fresh Mangos, for the fruit. I did everything else exactly as the recipe is written. Mine came out quite well done on the edges, a bit hard & dry, and the center was undercooked. I really couldn't leave it in any longer as it would have scorched the edges. ...I baked the 10" springform in a 350 degree CONVECTION oven....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I used a 9x13 pan for about 50 minutes and it came out perfect. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
very good. I made it for work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
What a great cake! It's moist, light, not too sweet and has an absolutely delicious caramelized top. I used a deep angel food cake pan which worked perfectly. I also followed other reviewers suggestions and lined a pan with foil for the cake pan to sit on. Great for clean up! I found that using that kind of pan meant I only had to bake it for 65 minutes so be sure and check for doneness sooner than indicated in the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I used apples, otherwise followed recipe exactly. I thought the cake was a bit dense, but my hubby loved it! Maybe if I used a lighter oil instead of solid fat, it could lighten up the cake a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States