Upside-Down Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
This cake is huge! Use a very large pan. A 9 x 13 or even larger if you have it will do the trick or a 12" spring form pan. I started the layers in an 9" square pan but had enough cake batter left over to bake another cake so I just added some frozen berries and a strussel topping and made a second cake with the left over batter. The cake rises up a lot and the sauce will run over if you don't have a deep enough pan. I learned this the hard way and ended up having to clean my oven. The cake is tasty but the taste of the peaches I used was lost somehow. I was disappointed that the flavour of the fruit was lost so probably won't make this again as an upside down cake although I might use the batter part to make two "coffee" cakes with fruit in the batter and a strussel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Had a group of about 15 over to my house... they ALL loved this. I had no left-overs. Guess I'll be making more!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This cake was a lot of work but it was worth it! I made it in November so peaches were completely out of season but we still had some frozen blackberries so I used that. I couldn't really taste a whole lot of caramel but it was delicious either way. I had a few variations: I used 3 cups of blackberries instead of peaches, I used 2 eggs and 2 eggs worth of egg substitue, almond milk instead of regular milk and I used half all purpose flour and half whole wheat flour. Even with all of those changes, it was fabulous and we will definitely be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Yummy, sweet. Similar to other cake recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe except to cook it in a 9X13 pan. It was not ooey gooey and I thought the cake was too dense and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. I have made it several times and it was always a hit. I use a non-stick bundt pan and bake it 45-50 minutes and it is perfect. No dripping, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Really good and large enough to feed a crowd...I used an 11 inch springform. I marinated the peaches in 2 tbsp. Bourbon for about 2 hours, adds a whole other dimention to the cake. Also increased the spices, 2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. Added a layer of 1/2 cup chopped, toasted pecans after the peaches went in. I don't like super sweet toppings so for the carmel I just made 1/2 the amount and was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
AMAZING!!! one of the best peach cakes I've ever baked. But be warned my kitchen turned into hell after baking this cake, be prepared...amazingly huge and delicious dont ever half this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzy
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I love this recipe! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kierstynn S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I made this cake to send out to the field. Everybody loved it and it turned out great. I used canned peaches and just drained them well instead of fresh... was a smashing hit... thanks for recipe... my boyfriend rated it a 9.8... he doesn't give tens... was told to make sure i put this one in my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States