Upside Down Chicken Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
SOOO good. About half way through dinner, my 4 year old asked whether we can have this again. I made a few changes: I sauted the onion in a bit of oil first and then added chicken breasts, carrots and broth. When it came time to fry the chicken and carrots for 2 mins, I did it in about a teaspoon of oil instead of one and a quarter cups. (I used a slotted spoon to get most of the chicken and carrots out, fried them and then put them back into the pot with the broth.) I layered the rice and seasoning mixture on top of that. I also added about a cup of frozen peas, and they worked really well with the recipe. I toasted the almonds in the toaster oven instead of in the oil. My modifications did change the overall presentation (more "mixed" chicken and rice than "upside down") but I cut almost 2 cups of oil from the recipe. And it was still really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
The ratio of rice to liquid is way off. Even though I knew better, I went ahead and followed the recipe using 4 cups of rice. After 30 min. the rice wasn't even close to being done. I added several cups of chicken stock, another onion, 1 cup of chopped celery and more cinnamon to fix it. I had an enormous pot of chicken and rice to deal with. It actually tasted good, so next time I will use 2 and 1/2 cups of rice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
My parents are from the Middle East so I grew up with this food as a regular. But we make it with eggplants and potatoes that are halfway fried before put with the rice. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
yum yum i made this recipe and it is great the rice is tasty with chicken and carrots i added some more nuts on the top and it was delicious my family loved it thank you rose90
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
the best recipe i have use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My husband really liked the cinnamon in this recipe, much to my surprise. The nuts are a great part of it, too. This is a recipe I'll definitely use often - easy for weeknights. I read the reviews and mostly followed the recipe. I used 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts - the whole chicken parts with bones in would probably add flavor and have made it a bit better. I boiled the chicken, carrots and onion in 4 cups chicken broth then reused the broth for cooking the rice. I sauteed the chicken and carrots in a few tablespoons of olive oil before adding the rice, and I only added 2 1/2 cups rice after reading other reviews. This required 5 cups of liquid but I only had 4 cups of broth reserved after boiling the chicken so I added 1 cup of water to the rice mixture. Next time I'll only use 2 cups of rice so I can use the 4 cups of broth and make it more flavorful. I also like the idea of adding raisins and will try that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is the best recipe i have ever tried .I added green pepper coliflower, and egg plant.i decided to steam the chicken instead of boiling it and it was grate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good, simple, and classic recipe. Its not a 'wow' recipe but it is good for some decent chicken and rice that will please everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
very very good dinner, it was really really good. Yum thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I made this awhile ago, and changed a few things, I used ground cinnamon, not sticks and used chicken breast. We also thought it would be really good cooked with rasains, but it was an afterthought, and we didn't have any on hand. This recipe was VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States