Upside Down Chicken Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
was a bit bland, not sure if I made it wrong or not. I did use as much oil as it asked for, and used less rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I didn't use any oil whatsoever in the recipe. The aroma of cinnamon while cooking was nice. As for the flavors, I suspect I must have added too much pepper, since I didn't measure, just eyeballed it. It left a lingering spice in my mouth. I didn't really care for the nuts in mine (my husband initially thought it was chicken bones). I added peas as suggested, and didnt have raisins as recommended. Overall, it reminded me of paella without the seafood, and cinnamon in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Really good, I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I am not sure what it is missing. It was good and I'll probably make it again. Someone suggested raisins. I added some and may add more next time. This was easy and we had most ingredients in the house, which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Delish! I accidentally poured half the onion soup packet into the rice mixture and then noticed I wasn't supposed to do that. So I mixed it into the rice and then poured the rest of the packet on top of the chicken, it was great that way! Whole family loved it. We added extra rice and a bit more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Like other reviewers, I skipped the frying portion.. more like a saute. I also added peas (1/4 cup). This recipe was OK - I think it was a little bland. The nuts added to the flavor, so if anything, next time I'll add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by MEAUXJEAUX
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
this was really good. the only things I did differently: used boneless skinless chicken breasts, added in about a cup of frozen peas as another reviewer suggested, and cut waaaaay back on the oil. although i was tempted to toast the nuts in the oil, i just toasted them in a dry pan. and when i fried the chicken and carrots before adding the rice, etc., i only put in a tablespoon or two versus 1/4 cup. i also tried to cut down on the number of dirty pans, though technically i dirtied more plates and bowls in the process. for instance, i didn't want to fry the chicken and carrots in a new pot, so i just removed the main solid contents to a plate and poured the stock into a bowl, then poured 3 cups of this into a 4-cup Pyrex liquid measuring cup. (BTW, the recipe is set up to make 12 servings so make sure to pare it down; I went to four.) otherwise, the only other thing i'd do differently in the future is skip the aforeto mentioned frying of the chicken and carrots. i don't think it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
My husband really liked the cinnamon in this recipe, much to my surprise. The nuts are a great part of it, too. This is a recipe I'll definitely use often - easy for weeknights. I read the reviews and mostly followed the recipe. I used 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts - the whole chicken parts with bones in would probably add flavor and have made it a bit better. I boiled the chicken, carrots and onion in 4 cups chicken broth then reused the broth for cooking the rice. I sauteed the chicken and carrots in a few tablespoons of olive oil before adding the rice, and I only added 2 1/2 cups rice after reading other reviews. This required 5 cups of liquid but I only had 4 cups of broth reserved after boiling the chicken so I added 1 cup of water to the rice mixture. Next time I'll only use 2 cups of rice so I can use the 4 cups of broth and make it more flavorful. I also like the idea of adding raisins and will try that in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe was not bad,the meet was pretty good but i had rice on the side and the sauce was great when it mixed with the rice...of course I'm new to cooking so take what you will from this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingnewthings

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This is the best recipe i have ever tried .I added green pepper coliflower, and egg plant.i decided to steam the chicken instead of boiling it and it was grate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States