Upside Down Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twall10107
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I used eight cups of apples. Baked in a 9" Pyrex pie plate, came out easily after five minutes' rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twall10107

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I added one additional apple to the filling. Be sure to put something on the base of the pan to help with removing the caramel topping and heat it up a little bit before flipping to make sure it comes off smoothly. Only took 30-40 minutes for my pie to bake and next time I will bake it on a pan to help with the spillover from the caramel filling that happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
very good and simple recipe... i agree 50mins is to long we used about 5 or 6 gala apples (with no lemon juice) and subbed syrup with honey. I also didnt arrange anthing...just dumped them in there and pushed around a little bit!! i will def. make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I have adopted this for my regular apple pie it is just wonderful.. I still have a problem with this coming out of the pan clean I always have an issue with it sticking,, but it is just wonderful..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Much of the bottom crust, which becomes the top crust when inverted, stuck to the dish, along with the carmel and nuts, when I inverted it. I think what we have here is basically a novelty to try. But who needs it? Why not just bake a pie with the topping on top to start with, or added toward the end. That would correct this problem PLUS you wouldn't end up with a pie falling apart on a a serving dish with no support around the edge. Tasted okay, though it was too much brown sugar for my taste. If I baked it again, I'd heavily butter the dish before putting down the topping, in the hope it wouldn't stick so bad the next time. And I'd switch half the brown sugar to white. And bake 40 to 50 minutes, not 50 to 60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I doubled the caramel and baked on foil as reccommended by others. The pie came out fine, the foil stuck to the pie pan. I set my timer for 50 minutes, checked after 40 and the pie was a little burned, it did not taste great - burned sugar never does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is a delicious recipe!! I've been asked to make it a few times in a month!! My family eats this like there's no tomorrow. I did make a small change, my kids suggested that I put thier favorite apple in there so I put 2 Honey Crisp Apple and 2 Granny Smith. It does change the taste, but they eat it either way. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acedCole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
yummy! big hit all around, definitely will make again - a nice alternative to the traditional apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
If you double up on the topping and filling, this pie is GREAT! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States