Upside-Down Apple Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I make this pie for every special occasion. I spread the softened butter in the pie pan, press the brown sugar into the butter and sprinkle the pecans over the sugar. I have never had a problem turning the pie onto a serving platter, but I do it as soon as it comes from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Frazier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Alexander City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made this for Christmas this year. I read other reviews and took their advice. I lined the pie tin with aluminum foil and sprayed it with Pam. It flipped out perfectly! Everyone really loved it! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Curry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by telethia
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Oh my goodness this pie awesome I made if for a pie contest we were have at work and I won. I also used the wax paper in the bottom of the pie plate. Telethia Philadelphia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hamp
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Not very pretty but tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My husband loved this! Traditional apple pie WAS his favorite, now this one is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This pie is fantastic. I had no problems with it sticking to the bottom thanks to the other reviews. So I lined the 9" pie plate with parchment paper sprayed lightly with cooking spray, then doubled the topping mix which takes the apple pie to a whole new level. I the used 6 nice sized apple sliced thin and add 1/4 cup sugar and a little lemon juice. Also I did very lightly brush all sides of both pie crust with an egg wash to keep from being soggy. I baked this in a preheat oven at 375 for only 40 minutes but I would check it at 30 minutes. To check stick a knife in to check for the right softness of the apples. Once done let it rest for 5 minutes, turn upside down on plate, wait 2 minutes and slowly peel off the paper. The top comes out perfect and you will never want to eat a regular apple pie again. Thank you so much for this great recipe! P.s. you do want to bake this on a foil lined cookie sheet or you will have a mess to clean up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Came out well. Not the sweetest Apple Pie, so you may want to add a little more sugar when preparing. But great recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Keeping the spirit of upside-down I added 8 maraschino cherrie 1/2's in a design with pecan 1/2's - looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom123
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This pie got great reviews by all of the traditional Apple-Pie lovers here. I used pecan 1/2s and placed them in a decorative pattern instead~everyone thought it came from a bakery. Great taste and beautiful presentation! (Also, appreciated the parchment paper advise- thanks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a delicious pie, I followed the recipe as stated and was delighted with the results. The only difference is that I use Macintosh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bender-Day

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States