Upside-Down Apple Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hamp
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Not very pretty but tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My husband loved this! Traditional apple pie WAS his favorite, now this one is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This pie is fantastic. I had no problems with it sticking to the bottom thanks to the other reviews. So I lined the 9" pie plate with parchment paper sprayed lightly with cooking spray, then doubled the topping mix which takes the apple pie to a whole new level. I the used 6 nice sized apple sliced thin and add 1/4 cup sugar and a little lemon juice. Also I did very lightly brush all sides of both pie crust with an egg wash to keep from being soggy. I baked this in a preheat oven at 375 for only 40 minutes but I would check it at 30 minutes. To check stick a knife in to check for the right softness of the apples. Once done let it rest for 5 minutes, turn upside down on plate, wait 2 minutes and slowly peel off the paper. The top comes out perfect and you will never want to eat a regular apple pie again. Thank you so much for this great recipe! P.s. you do want to bake this on a foil lined cookie sheet or you will have a mess to clean up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Came out well. Not the sweetest Apple Pie, so you may want to add a little more sugar when preparing. But great recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Keeping the spirit of upside-down I added 8 maraschino cherrie 1/2's in a design with pecan 1/2's - looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom123
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This pie got great reviews by all of the traditional Apple-Pie lovers here. I used pecan 1/2s and placed them in a decorative pattern instead~everyone thought it came from a bakery. Great taste and beautiful presentation! (Also, appreciated the parchment paper advise- thanks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a delicious pie, I followed the recipe as stated and was delighted with the results. The only difference is that I use Macintosh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I made this a day before Thanksgiving and found the crust to be soggy. It was lovely golden brown when I removed it from the oven. It inverted beautifully...thanks to the parchment paper recommendations! Maybe it needs to be baked longer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
OMG!! This is Soooo good and easy and very cool looking! Looks like a big sticky bun! I used parchment paper as advised by others. We would give this 10 stars if we could! I added a t. of cinnamon to the nuts and a t. of vanilla to the apples. I was afraid that my flip would be a flop but not bad at all. This will be my new Thanksgiving dessert. Thanks for the really good recipe! My Boy friend loves apple stuff and he loves this this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justlisa
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Excellent recipe. Nice combination of flavors. I also lined the pie plate with parchment and had no issue with it coming out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States