Upside-Down Apple Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I make this pie for every special occasion. I spread the softened butter in the pie pan, press the brown sugar into the butter and sprinkle the pecans over the sugar. I have never had a problem turning the pie onto a serving platter, but I do it as soon as it comes from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn Frazier

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Alexander City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I made this for Christmas this year. I read other reviews and took their advice. I lined the pie tin with aluminum foil and sprayed it with Pam. It flipped out perfectly! Everyone really loved it! I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Curry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by telethia
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Oh my goodness this pie awesome I made if for a pie contest we were have at work and I won. I also used the wax paper in the bottom of the pie plate. Telethia Philadelphia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hamp
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Not very pretty but tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
My husband loved this! Traditional apple pie WAS his favorite, now this one is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This pie is fantastic. I had no problems with it sticking to the bottom thanks to the other reviews. So I lined the 9" pie plate with parchment paper sprayed lightly with cooking spray, then doubled the topping mix which takes the apple pie to a whole new level. I the used 6 nice sized apple sliced thin and add 1/4 cup sugar and a little lemon juice. Also I did very lightly brush all sides of both pie crust with an egg wash to keep from being soggy. I baked this in a preheat oven at 375 for only 40 minutes but I would check it at 30 minutes. To check stick a knife in to check for the right softness of the apples. Once done let it rest for 5 minutes, turn upside down on plate, wait 2 minutes and slowly peel off the paper. The top comes out perfect and you will never want to eat a regular apple pie again. Thank you so much for this great recipe! P.s. you do want to bake this on a foil lined cookie sheet or you will have a mess to clean up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Came out well. Not the sweetest Apple Pie, so you may want to add a little more sugar when preparing. But great recipe overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Keeping the spirit of upside-down I added 8 maraschino cherrie 1/2's in a design with pecan 1/2's - looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mom123
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This pie got great reviews by all of the traditional Apple-Pie lovers here. I used pecan 1/2s and placed them in a decorative pattern instead~everyone thought it came from a bakery. Great taste and beautiful presentation! (Also, appreciated the parchment paper advise- thanks.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a delicious pie, I followed the recipe as stated and was delighted with the results. The only difference is that I use Macintosh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bender-Day

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Kentucky Pecan Pie

See how to make a rich, sweet, and gooey pecan pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States