Updated Shepherds Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
this was really good !! as it was cooking i had my doubts. i added salt and pepper, and substituted PLAIN YOGURT for sour cream (much healthier) - the result was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I have made this several times and my family loves it! It's so easy and instead of making the mashed potatoes, I use Bob Evans Original mashed potatoes and it tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this tonight and found it to be quite bland. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I love Shepherd's Pie, and this version was pretty good. Consistency was perfect; however, I must agree with other reviewers who commented that it was lacking in flavor. No salt or pepper in the ingredient list? I found that odd, especially considering that low-sodium broth is recommended (I used regular) and ketchup is quite sweet. I tasted the ground meat after it was cooked (I used lean ground pork), and I added both salt and pepper, as well as some Worcestershire, but the dish still ended up quite plain. I will make this again, as I am a huge fan of this "comfort food," but I will definitely add onions and garlic when cooking the ground meat, substitute tomato paste for the ketchup and add salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This was terrific, but I made a few changes since I'm on a low carb diet. Instead of potatoes, I boiled the garlic cloves with 3 large parsnips and 1/2 head of cauliflower. I also added a little ground black pepper on the finished product before sprinkling cheese on top. For veggies, I used approx. 1 cup of frozen peas and 1 cup of chopped fresh carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
It was easy and tasty. My family loved it. I sauteed galic and onion with the ground meat and added salt and pepper as well. I used the low fat sour cream and some 2% milk and 1/2 cup of finely shredded cheddar to the potatoes and mashed them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Definitely quick and easy. I did season the meat with salt and pepper for some more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I don't have a review, but a question. I'm considering making this dish, but since I'm out of ketchup, I'd like to use Mexican restaurant-style tomato salsa. Has anyone ever done this, and would you recommend I do the same? I suppose it would give it more of a Latin flavor, to which I am not opposed. Thanks for your suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CH225
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very easy dish to make. The recipe hardly called for any seasoning. To avoid the dish being bland I recommend seasoning to taste while cooking all parts. I also added a little A1 bold and spicy for a little smoke and a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was my first attempt at Shepherds Pie and I will definitely be making it again. The only thing I added was salt and pepper. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States