Up and Coming Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe is great for those who do not care for egg nog. It almost tasted like banana. It was, however, way too sweet. Next time I would cut the sugar in half and add a little bit more apple cider. The heavy cream and sugar really over power any good that comes along with this recipe. But with some tweaking it could be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Was too sweet for me, would add much less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
WOW. I may never buy eggnog again although I think the eggs were the only thing remotely good for you in eggnog and this doesn't have any! Definitely an indulgence! Not quite the same texture as eggnog but still very good. I whipped up a half batch of this in about 2 minutes, I put all the ingredients in a quart size drinking bottloe and just shook it up until the sugar dissolved. First 5 star rating from me on AllRecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FeedMySheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We added an extra cup of cider and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have to say this is very good. Taste just like eggnog but without egg. There is a slight hint of apple from the cider ... just enough to add some spice. The nutmeg is a must (I did not use fresh) as this brings it all together. I used half the sugar called for and for half of that I used dark brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This was very good. Tastes like a melted milkshake with nutmeg. It was too sweet for me so I added another cup of milk and cut back the sugar by 1/4 Cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Do not make this if you are alone. Unless what you really want for Christmas is a butt like a polar bear. This is so good! Had to update this review: I took this to a recipe swap and several of the ladies used it as a creamer for their coffee. I'm not a coffee drinker and didn't try it, but they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
So so so easy and sooooooooooooo delicious! Like a richer eggnog, only much simpler to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Very delicious! I've made it with just milk and it still tastes good (though not as creamy). Remember to use chilled apple cider, because hot will curdle the milk-yucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brighteyes_22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I really like this recipe! My husband couldn't tell the difference between this and eggnog. It is extremely quick and easy. I have to fully agree with the author's statement...in this particular recipe it is imperative that you only use FRESH grated nutmeg. I had just purchased whole nutmeg from Penzey's spices (yum) and it was excellent. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States