Unsweetened Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I had to find a recipe that didn't use chocolate syrup since I didn't have any on hand, so I made these. This is the recipe I'm going to use from now on. Because they don't have the syrup they keep better and don't get so gooey. They are rich, chocolately and minty - perfect. I have served them to several people and they're always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These are really good! My only jelly-roll-style pan is @13x16, next time I would make slightly more of the mint filling and double the glaze. An offset spatula would help for spreading the filling and glaze as well. I used natural food coloring derived from plants and the color didn't turn out great, I think next time (during the christmas season) I would just leave out the food coloring and crumble candy canes on the top. I loved the other reviewer's suggestion of doing raspberry filling and I would really like to try this with orange filling as well. I used unsweetened butter for the brownies, but decided salted butter would work better with the unsweetened chocolate for the glaze, I like the combination of salty and bitter on top of the sweet mint and brownie. My husband loved these and asked for seconds right away. They sliced beautifully after being chilled for about 20 min after the glaze layer (about 90 min between filling and glaze). the layers stayed separated nicely but I didn't have near enough glaze for my big pan. Will definitely make these again, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This recipe was great, very easy to make. I made them into a raspberry brownie with raspberry extract in place of the mint, and red food coloring in place of the green. But I would imagine a 5 stars rating with the mint also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Well the name needs to be changed to sweet surprise and they are really called mint sticks or mint brownies. My mom made this for the family every Christmas long before I was born and I was born in 1958. Oh by the way add chopped walnuts thats in moms recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shutter bug 1

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by TRINITY7
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These were very good, they are not hard to make and really don't take much time in active work but there is cooling/setting time needed to turn out well. I was just needing the topping for my standard for brownies (Baker's Choc. 1 bowl brownie). I also vote NOT to use a mix for these, mixes are good and serve their purpose but the consistency is not the same and this brownie (or the Baker's) recipe is super easy and doesn't take much longer than a mix. The mint filling was great, good amount of mint, similar to peppermint patties. I let this sit in the fridge for a couple hours, then popped it in the freezer for about 10-15 mins before topping with the chocolate. The freezer made sure that the layers stayed separate and chilled the choc layer nicely. The unsweetened choc was good, it broke the sweetness just enough. I did need to make more than called for (and I only made a 9x13) I used 4 squares instead of 3 and that was just enough, could have made it thicker but it really wasn't needed. Everyone loved these and I will definitely make them again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was certainly not UNSWEETENED! BUT GREAT! I was bored last night so decided to bake something. Wow big mistake making this before bed! They are great cold! Taste like a Pepperming Patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
The name is a bit misleading because these are sweet, rich, and a family favorite! The chocolate layer almost has the consistency of fudge, and I usually have to bake it for several minutes longer than the suggested time. I cool the brownie layer completely before pouring on the mint layer, then chill for the suggested hour before adding the glaze. I learned the hard way that this is an extremely important step or else you don't get the perfect layers. If I let the bars chill overnight I usually take them out of the fridge and let them sit for at least 15 minutes before cutting or else the top layer cracks. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Media, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
these tasted very good. i wasn't used to the consistency of the brownie layer, so it was hard for me to tell when it was cooked. i cooked it for 17 minutes and it seemed a little underdone when we ate it, so next time i will add a couple minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Don't be scared by the name--these are plenty sweet! They are the same recipe my Grandma would make each Christmas. They are like a brownie, with the unique topping of a mint frosting layer followed by a thin chocolate glaze. If you like chocolate and mint together, you will probably like these bars! The next time I make these, I will line my pan with foil, because they tend to stick to my greased and floured pan. Make sure they are THOROUGHLY chilled before cutting them, or they won't cut well. They are picture-perfect if you can cut them cleanly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mason, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States