Unstuffed Cabbage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
We all enjoyed it. So much easier than making cabbage rolls. Added 1 1/2 cup brown rice and 3 cups water. May want to add more tomato sauce in future --especially if adding rice---for more tomato sauce taste. Used full 2 teaspoons of salt even thought it seemed like a lot and it was perfect. We used a regular size head of cabbage and with the addition of rice, made at least 8 to 10 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by knishihara2000
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was delicious. Made mashed potatoes on the side and it was the perfect combination. Lots of leftovers! Also switched out a pound of ground beef with ground bison. Satisfied all the cravings! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Great recipe!! Used ground turkey and seasoned with seasoning salt, fresh ground pepper and used diced tomatoes with roasted sweet onion and garlic and good quality tomato sauce. I also added some fresh spinach as I had extra sauc. Great one pot dish!! Simmered for only 20 minutes as I don't like my vegetables overcooked. I made some for my Mom and she loved it...so much easier than traditional stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
My husband and I absolutely love this recipe. I have made it twice now in as many weeks; it's just impossible to get tired of it. When taste-testing it, I decided to add several Tbsp. of brown sugar to counteract the tomatoes, one shredded carrot (just because), and used 3 cans of tomatoes in place of the water/tomato sauce (because I didn't have any sauce). I left my chunks of cabbage a little larger than shown in the photo so, obviously, had to cook it a bit longer. It is so easy to put together and tastes so good...I'm delighted to add this new recipe to my list of "Favorites."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterfoot, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
After seeing this on facebook my husband and I made it and we were very happy with the results. We did add about 8 oz. of chopped mushrooms and a bit of "Pensey's" Mural of Flavor. Used low salt tomatoes but did add a bit of sea salt. we served it over a brown rice and quinoa mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Love this as a base for a recipe... I switched out hamburger and ground organic andouille sausage in a food processor. I also added more water and added about 1 cup of quinoa. My picky future husband even at this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
We love it as is! Had it before a few months ago and wolfed it down in 2 days...my hubby and I. Finally found the recipe again and Hubby made it again today... it's going fast....lol! Actually, this time, all we had was 3-10 oz cans of diced tomatoes with green chilies and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Loved it... Used ground turkey and served with shredded cheese as a topping... A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Definitely a keeper! I liked finding a recipe that is quick, simple, tasty and nourishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
My family enjoys this recipe, but I add about 1/8 cup of vinegar & 1 tbsp of sugar to give it the flavor of the stuffed cabbage they love! Healthy, easy & delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States