Unstuffed Cabbage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was very good. I added rice and used Napa cabbage because that is what I had. I will make this again and again. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I've never tried a real cabbage roll, so I can't compare this to them...but on it's own, this is a very good recipe. I really enjoyed it, and my husband and son (who have both tried but never got that excited about cabbage rolls) said they enjoyed this more. The only change I made was to use the flavoured cans of diced tomatoes...I had olive oil-basil-garlic flavour on hand. Simple recipe for a pretty quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
My husband and I loved this. We ate it like a stew. A bowl for each of us, with a piece of cornbread, and we were set. This is definitely going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My husband looked over at me and said "wow, this tastes just like stuffed cabbage" I responded "yes, without all the work". We used the dutch oven which worked great since we let it simmer for a little over an hour to let the cabbage soften and it heated perfectly. As another reviewer pointed out, adding some tomato soup adds a nice sweetness, we only needed a half can. Worcestershire and paprika are a must also, it adds depth to the taste which is a bit lacking without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
My mother fixed the traditional stuffed cabbage rolls for us growing up and I continued the tradition for my own family. But I work full-time so making the stuffed variety is too time-consuming most of the time. I have now made this recipe twice and the whole family loves it--probably much more so than the regular way! It's full of flavor, kind of a comfort food kind of dish. I DO recommend adding at least 2 or more teaspoons of salt. I even added a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning for a contemporary "lift".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Great as is but I did add more spices because I have them and love them easy as that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Magdaleno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I love this recipe! I am the only one in my house that eats it. But it freezes very well, so I can have it whenever I want. Going to try the spiced up version next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Sego
Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clayton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
My husband loves cabbage so when I found this recipe I knew he would devour it - he did and so did I. Followed the recipe but cut it in half. Thanks for a great meal idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Photo by Deevah
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I've always wanted to try this but was too intimated by the idea. This recipe was simple enough to give me the courage to try it and I was amazed at how good it was! Given that so many had mentioned that it needed more spice...I did take heed of that and used Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies and salt and pepper to my taste. I may try adding rice next time just to get rid of some of the water...I didn't add any extra (or even the 1/2 cup called for) and there was still a sufficient amount of "juice" I topped with Parmesean cheese and it was DELICIOUS. Thanks for the recipe and adding a new dish to my list of "I can cook".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deevah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States