Unstuffed Cabbage Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
i used long grain rice, so i par boiled it first. cooked chopped onions w/beef. did not use broth. sauteed the cabbage in bacon drippings. stirred everything together, put in a casserole dish and added homemade tomato sauce and a small can of v8. came out perfect for us. thanks for the post BINGOMOMMA56!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was a very good quick and easy dinner. I used a box of long grain and wild rice mix and just added the seasoning packet instead of the soup mix, along with some onion powder. I also used ground turkey instead of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was so easy and delicious. Even my 7 year old liked it. I had to make a couple substitutions because of what I had in the pantry. I used dry vegetable soup mix, some sauce instead of V8, and instant brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Made this tonight great recipe. I did make a few changes...used ground turkey, had a package of Knorrs Dirty Rice and used it instead of regular rice. Great recipe thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
YUM! Though I might cut back on the black pepper next time. I decided to double the recipe at the last minute since we have 6 people in our family (totally unnecessary as it makes A LOT!), and used a can of tomato soup concentrate + enough water to make the total volume as a substitute for the can of tomato juice. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
l just cut the cabbage and in place of ground beef l throw in beef brisket, some tomato paste in place of tomato juice with whole tomatoes and sliced carrots,celery and eliminate the rice. Use a slow cooker for return after work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Made this last night and as many other reviewers have said...great one pot meal! I like a few others used brown rice (what I had on hand), so I increased the amount of liquid. The only thing I would change for next time would be to put the cabbage in (and perhaps add a bit more) halfway thru the cooking process as I like it to have a bit more bite to it. My husband thought this was fabulous! Thank you BINGOMOMMA56 for posting this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
very good. I used tomato sauce and diced tomato in place of veg juice because that's what I had. I also added 1 tablespoon beef base. great way to use up a head of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
really really good!! so easy too! one pot, one mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just plain awesome!! How can you beat a one pot meal that is inexpensive, quick to make, and tastes fantastic. I love cabbage rolls but never have time or skill to make pretty ones. Be careful to check your pot frequently...i ended up taking mine off the stove after 20 min. It would have been mush if I hadn't been so excited to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States