Unstuffed Cabbage Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was very good, although I had to make many changes to match what I had in the fridge. I used ground turkey, chicken stock, cole slaw mix, and brown rice, jar tomato sauce instead of the V8, and a mix of curry and cayan pepper instead of the soup mix. But it was excellent, my boyfriend called it "a keeper", and there is PLENTY left so I froze some for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I LOVED this recipe!!!! We love tomatoes so I added a 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and a can of diced tomates (drained). Next time I will probably add more cabbage. It was SO good my husband could have ate the whole panful himself! This is the best recipe I've found on here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Overall, this was a great recipe. I used 3 frozen hamburger patties (Bubba Burger brand, vidalia onion flavor) instead of the ground meat, since it contains extra seasoning and is fairly easy to cook up. Also, just so you know, a 11.5 oz. (small can) of V8 juice is the perfect amount to use. Instead of white rice, I used brown to make this a bit more healthy. Everyone in the family enjoted this, some of us decided to add diced tomatoes and also thought that sour cream & shredded cheese would be good to add as well. We all agreed that this recipe is a lot like chili/sloppy joe/stuffed peppers. This made for a great 4th of July dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Cole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paragould, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I didn't measure, but I did mix my ground meat like I usually do to make stuffed cabbage with egg, onion, ketchup, garlic powder, salt, pepper to taste and rice. I layered skillet with cut up cabbage then meat mix then more cabbage. I covered with 1 can tomato soup and water cooked it until cabbage and rice were done. Served with mashed potatoes and my husband said it was a keeper. Good for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I loved this recipe. It was delicious, warm, and a great comfort food. My kids who don't like cabbage ate this without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This was a great new recipe I found for ground beef! I made a few changes: I used 4-5 cloves fresh garlic instead of the powder, and I used orzo instead of rice and it came out wonderful. My kids even liked it. It's a great homestyle recipe with inexpensive ingredients that is very filling and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My family loved this! I made a few substitutions though: To make it a bit healthier, I used ground turkey, omitted the rice and used one can diced tomatoes instead of the tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
We loved this. I added chopped onion and used tomato sauce instead of V8. No onion soup mix either ... I didn't have any. Makes a lot for 2 people, but we managed to eat it all :) Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made this a few times and the family just loves it. I never last very long. I followed the directions except I didn't measure anything. I know I used more cabbage but all is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States