Unstuffed Cabbage Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lillpup
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was very good, although I had to make many changes to match what I had in the fridge. I used ground turkey, chicken stock, cole slaw mix, and brown rice, jar tomato sauce instead of the V8, and a mix of curry and cayan pepper instead of the soup mix. But it was excellent, my boyfriend called it "a keeper", and there is PLENTY left so I froze some for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I LOVED this recipe!!!! We love tomatoes so I added a 8 oz can of tomato sauce, and a can of diced tomates (drained). Next time I will probably add more cabbage. It was SO good my husband could have ate the whole panful himself! This is the best recipe I've found on here!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Pretty good! Good for a cold winter day. I used real garlic, and skipped the onion soup mix. I used tomato sauce instead of the juice cocktail. I also used brown rice instead of white, so I had to add more water and cooking time. I wish that I had used more cabbage. So actually, I did change quite a bit, but that's okay; still a good base recipe that lends itself to adaptation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lorrie from Oregon
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
What I loved most about this recipe is that it only required one skillet from start to finish. No browning in one pan and boiling in another. It's great for large families and limited time/energy. Very simple to prepare and 110% better than hamburger helper. I substituted the hamburger for ground turkey and the beef broth for chicken but otherwise followed the recipe and the result was great! My kids loved it (even my 2 year old cleaned her plate)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seward, Alaska, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This is an easy and comforting meal for a weeknight. I didn't measure anything, just sauteed some garlic, browned 92% lean ground beef, added shredded cabbage, a can of chopped tomatoes, water and beef buillon. Served over rice. Thanks for sharing this idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Made this last night and as many other reviewers have said...great one pot meal! I like a few others used brown rice (what I had on hand), so I increased the amount of liquid. The only thing I would change for next time would be to put the cabbage in (and perhaps add a bit more) halfway thru the cooking process as I like it to have a bit more bite to it. My husband thought this was fabulous! Thank you BINGOMOMMA56 for posting this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CGG
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed this very much. It was very mild so I added just a splash of spaghetti sauce and topped it with Parmesan and Cheddar/Jack Cheese. We will have this again on a regular rotation. Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Not bad at all. I don't normally like cabbage but I liked this. My family also enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Overall, this was a great recipe. I used 3 frozen hamburger patties (Bubba Burger brand, vidalia onion flavor) instead of the ground meat, since it contains extra seasoning and is fairly easy to cook up. Also, just so you know, a 11.5 oz. (small can) of V8 juice is the perfect amount to use. Instead of white rice, I used brown to make this a bit more healthy. Everyone in the family enjoted this, some of us decided to add diced tomatoes and also thought that sour cream & shredded cheese would be good to add as well. We all agreed that this recipe is a lot like chili/sloppy joe/stuffed peppers. This made for a great 4th of July dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Just plain awesome!! How can you beat a one pot meal that is inexpensive, quick to make, and tastes fantastic. I love cabbage rolls but never have time or skill to make pretty ones. Be careful to check your pot frequently...i ended up taking mine off the stove after 20 min. It would have been mush if I hadn't been so excited to taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States