Unstuffed Cabbage Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I loved this. I made to recipe except I probably used a lot more cabbage. I didn't measure, I just chopped up half a head. I also added about a 1/2 a cup of water because it seemed to be cooking down a little too fast. It was great served with some Frank's red hot sauce on top and a little shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I just made this today I have to say it was very good however the next time I will use tomato sauce instead of the vegetable juice and also add a chopped green pepper to the onions and I also used fresh garlic. My mom passed away few months back and she made the best stuffed cabbage and always cooked a green pepper with it I wanted to try something like this because I have no patience to be rolling cabbage so this was somewhat close to her flavor but with a few changes it will be just the same. I'll definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYB325

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe, except I had 4 cups of cabbage and I used 1- 15.6 oz of diced tomatoes for the vegetable juice. My husband and I really loved it. Once the ingredients were chopped and ready to go, it came together fast. I did mine in a Dutch oven on top of the stove, since I had more cabbage, I needed more depth, than my skillet allowed. I think this would be a great dish to bring to a pot luck , it would travel well and serves lots of people. I love traditional cabbage rolls, but can't be bothered rolling , when this tastes so great. The only thing I may try next time is adding a small can of sauerkraut, my Grandma always added a can of kraut to her cabbage rolls as they simmered on the stove . Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I substituted brown rice for the white rice but other than that followed the recipe. I thought it was a great recipe that was super easy to make (walked in the door from groceries and dinner was on the table in less than 45 minutes). I love cabbage rolls but hate dealing with rolling them in the cabbage. This is a great alternative, same taste just much easier. DH would have ate all of it if I let him! Oh yes, I also added some paprika when browning the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Stumbled on this when I was searching of a way to use some cabbage. So glad to say this exceeded my expectations and we will be having this again soon. Only change was making my own dry onion soup mix (4 teaspoons beef bouillon granuals, 8 teaspoons dried onion flakes, 1 teaspoon onion powder and 1/4 teaspoon pepper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Recipe was good and very easy. I used 3 cups of cabbage instead of two and even my picky husband who doesn't like cabbage ate this up. Much quicker and easier than traditional cabbage rolls, but really is a totally different meal that is not comparable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
It was ok, but we found it to be way too salty with onion soup mix. It's great for someone living on a budget since it uses alot of pantry items and a cheap cut of meat. Heathy with the addition of cabbage. An all around complete one pot meal. I also think it makes alot than just 4 servings. I have leftovers, enough for another meal or to freeze for an easy go-to option. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Very good. I didn't have white rice, so I used long grain and wild rice. I topped it with cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I used 2 cans of tomato soup instead of the V-8. Pretty good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
i used long grain rice, so i par boiled it first. cooked chopped onions w/beef. did not use broth. sauteed the cabbage in bacon drippings. stirred everything together, put in a casserole dish and added homemade tomato sauce and a small can of v8. came out perfect for us. thanks for the post BINGOMOMMA56!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States