Unstuffed Cabbage Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This was great! Fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Live down south and have 4 heads of cabbage in the garden left to harvest (3/5/2015). Been making coleslaw regularly, but wanted to try something different. Found this recipe and followed it to the letter, except I added a half a head of freshly harvested cabbage instead of just the two cups in the recipe. I must say, this was awesome!! After 30 minutes of simmer, however, the mixture was still very liquid so I added just a bit more rice (thin layer on top of the mixture and stirred it in) and after 50 minutes the liquid was absorbed. I will absolutely fix this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Shaffer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Easily adaptable recipe. I made some changes, but not so much that I feel my review isn't valid. I used 2c regular (cooked) rice, adding it for the last ten minutes. Increased cabbage to three or three plus cups (about 1/2#, 1/4 a medium head) since I only used half pound ground beef. I used a cup & a quarter beef broth (since I didn't need the additional liquid for the instant rice). Subbed an undrained can of rotel for the whatI'mthinkingis V8 (Yuck). I used half t each garlic powder & black pepper - being wary of the rotel's effect. Taste: I liked it better before the tomato addition. It's nearly medium heat with the half t black pepper & rotel. Hearty, pretty inexpensive meal. Adding more broth & vegetables & you'd have a really good soup, I think. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Delicious! Comfort food at its best. Only one change made....I subbed Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage for the ground beef. That seemed to really kick it up. My husband was going back for thirds until he realized he was full. I'll most definitely make this easy and wonderful dish again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
The only change I made was adding about a cup more cabbage. Definite do again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Shaw Sautter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this exactly as is and give it 4 stars. I made changes after I made it as written and would give it 5 with the changes. I added a can if crushed tomatoes and extra pepper. I also added a dash of paprika, garlic salt, a splash of white vinegar and a small spoon of brown sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Crazy good! Kids devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Tasted ok but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Photo by domthe10
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used chicken broth instead of beef and instant brown rice instead of white. I also added an Italian sausage red sauce. My 3 year old never noticed the cabbage. We love!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used several substitutions & additions, from others' suggestions. I used a can of Mexican tomato sauce (el pato) and omitted the tomato juice cocktail & also added a can of diced tomatoes w/ green chilies, which I drained first before adding. I also added diced bell pepper, mushroom, garlic & paprika & replaced the ground beef w/ ground turkey. As in the recipe, I did add some garlic powder as well as a package of onion soup mix. I added a splash of red wine & a little brown sugar. I substituted chicken broth for the beef broth and cooked the rice separately. It was a lil sweet & spicy, with a yummy tomato broth. It was a great way to use up some cabbage in the fridge leftover from st. Party's day corned beef & cabbage. My hubby had seconds & asked what it was & said it was really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States