Unstuffed Cabbage Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Delicious! Comfort food at its best. Only one change made....I subbed Johnsonville Mild Italian Sausage for the ground beef. That seemed to really kick it up. My husband was going back for thirds until he realized he was full. I'll most definitely make this easy and wonderful dish again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
The only change I made was adding about a cup more cabbage. Definite do again recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Shaw Sautter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this exactly as is and give it 4 stars. I made changes after I made it as written and would give it 5 with the changes. I added a can if crushed tomatoes and extra pepper. I also added a dash of paprika, garlic salt, a splash of white vinegar and a small spoon of brown sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Crazy good! Kids devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Tasted ok but not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suth3rng1rl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chickamauga, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wappapello, Missouri, USA
Photo by domthe10
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I used chicken broth instead of beef and instant brown rice instead of white. I also added an Italian sausage red sauce. My 3 year old never noticed the cabbage. We love!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used several substitutions & additions, from others' suggestions. I used a can of Mexican tomato sauce (el pato) and omitted the tomato juice cocktail & also added a can of diced tomatoes w/ green chilies, which I drained first before adding. I also added diced bell pepper, mushroom, garlic & paprika & replaced the ground beef w/ ground turkey. As in the recipe, I did add some garlic powder as well as a package of onion soup mix. I added a splash of red wine & a little brown sugar. I substituted chicken broth for the beef broth and cooked the rice separately. It was a lil sweet & spicy, with a yummy tomato broth. It was a great way to use up some cabbage in the fridge leftover from st. Party's day corned beef & cabbage. My hubby had seconds & asked what it was & said it was really good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GFCF Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very yummy. My 6 and 9 year old both had seconds. Based on others reviews I used 8 oz tomatoes sauce in place is the vegetable juice and used one can of diced tomatoes drained. Before serving I drizzled on some cream and mixed. Delicious! If gluten free like our family, verify the soup mix is gluten free as many are not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have to qualify my five stars. I loved it. Two in my family hated it. One said it was ok. I used 98 pct lean ground chicken w 8 oz chopped mushrooms. I deglazed w red wine, used cooked white rice, tomato soup instead of v8, and chicken broth. Coking low fat and without beef, I find mushrooms and deglazing the pan w wine go a long way to add flavor. Final tip is I don't drink wine, but keep those little four packs handy for cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Wife and I both enjoyed this quick, easy recipe. Did not have beef broth on hand and used chicken, recipe came out fine. Vegetable broth would probably have been fine as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States