Unleavened Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
It was good for Passover week , but not the same as traditional cornbread . I used margerine , instead of shortning . You could use just corn and no flour , if you are worried about tradition . ( mixed grains ) I personally believe it meets scriptural requirements .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have been looking for a johnny cake recipe that I used to have, that came out more like cake... I found and prepared this recipe as it seamed to have same amount of ingredients that I used before. I was very dissapointed... it came out dense and hard, and I even added a second egg to help fluff it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Sweet Amy, you will missed by all. I'm so glad I had the opportunity to know you on The Quality Cook forum. This recipe has such a special meaning, not just because it's tasty, but also because it was yours. Thank you, our friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My church does not allow baking powder or other leavening agents during passover so this recipe is great for us! I added a tablespoon of sour cream and a teaspoon of vanilla for extra flavor, and it turned out really delicious and moist. I baked it on a greased loaf pan and cut it into pieces it right after I took it off the oven. It took exactly 20 minutes to bake. I will keep this in my recipe book for years to come! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carmenid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
It was alright for not being "fluffy" - good for when you don't have alot in the house. probably btter with a soup that you could dip it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This will be a great addition next year! My church personally does not allow baking powder since it is a leaven and we don't ban mixtures of grains since they are not leavening agents lol.. So this is perfect for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
An unusual recipe, but as a reference point, it is unsuitable for Passover as it contains flour and corn (unless you're Sephardi). Any mixture of grain (specifically the 5 grains barley, rye, wheat, spelt, and oats and also corn, rice and beans if you're Ashkenazi) and liquid is considered "chometz" or leavening for the holiday. Ironically, Baking powder can be kosher for Passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
WOnderful! Thanks so much ~ This week of "unleaven bread" has truely challenged me.. couldn't of found this at a better time!!! Todah~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I substituted melted butter for the shortening. They were good but dense and a little dry. EDIT: They became hard and even more dry the next day...won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I was a little dubious about trying this recipe and thought the mixture was too runny to work properly... But after it was cooked, it was PERFECT! This is my new personal cornbread recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONK316

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States