Unhealthy Quinoa Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Delicious. I love quinoa!! I admit to 2 changes. First, no tomatoes (we have an allergy in the house). Second, used crushed goldfish crackers instead of breadcrumbs as I do with all my mac n cheese. Decadent. To put it over the top use flavor blasted goldfish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Tasty, although I would not make it with mozzarella cheese again. The flavor is not strong enough and comes out a little bland. Suggestion would be a cheese with more bite like fresh Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Made my first time with quinoa a good experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Absolutely loved this recipe. Did not change a thing (except I did not add the tomatoes since I am not a fan)! Even brought leftovers into work and gave out 10 copies of the recipe. Before this, no one knew what quinoa was and now they are all running to buy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I really wanted to love this, especially after reading all of the positive reviews. I love Quinoa, and I LOVE mac n cheese, so I thought this would be amazing. However, I really wasn't a fan of the unique Quinoa flavour combined with this dish. I made this twice--once following the recipe (except I used 2% milk instead of skim) and decided it needed a little bit more flavour, so the second time I added some paprika, garlic and onion powder to step 5. I also cut up the tomatoes and mixed them throughout the quinoa, and added some extra cheese, and crumbled bacon over the top. Whole family agreed it was much better with the additions! My husband and toddler both liked it, but as I wasn't a fan, I won't be making it again. Thanks anyway for the new idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Wow! I just served this for dinner, and my hubby just said "mmm!!!" after the first bite. He'll eat almost anything, but that's a sure sign of a hit. I scaled it down for two, but it's so delish and rich that I split one serving between the two of us with a salad on the side. Oh, darn, we'll have to have this again, cause it took extreme willpower not to scarf it all up. I made it as written but used 2% milk cause that's all I had, and I sprinkled on some bacon lardons (which I always keep on hand, pre-cooked in the fridge) before the tomatoes (one large roma, seeded and diced). It kind of tasted like a classy BLT. Yummy, and a definite addition to the faves! I look forward to playing around with this by using veggie stock and adding diced jalapeños and cumin, then garnishing with cilantro. This is now my fave quinoa recipe. Thanks SO much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe except I did not put the bread crumbs or tomato on top. It really was delicious. Very cheesy and creamy. The only thing I will do different next time is make a half recipe. It made a lot. Quinoa is much more filling than macaroni so our family of 3 barely ate a 3rd of it and we all had 2nd helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
YUM! Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
fantastic! I made it exactly as recipe stated. Next time I will chop up the tomatoes more. Would be great with crumbled bacon w/ the tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dezzie
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
If you like the nutty quinoa flavor, you'll enjoy this decadent preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dezzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States