Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Great recipe although I'm looking for some feedback on what setting I should have used for baking it in the machine. What's the "normal" setting on the machine...white? I used the French Bread setting but I was at a loss for what size loaf it should be - 1.0, 1.5 or 2.0? Also what crust to use - tried medium. Any advice out there? Tastes great but it came out looking a little scary but that could be I didn't have the correct settings and I am going to try less of the vital wheat gluten as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed. Flavor and texture were excellent. The top did sink a bit. Next time I will use 2 T less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Best rye bread I have made. Hurray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Awesome recipe:) Did not put in caraway seed and substituted cornmeal with Multi grain bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Was pretty good. I would bake it on a regular cycle next time because it was a little undercooked. Made great Ruben sandwiches and was good toasted with butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is good stuff. I've been baking and eating this delicious rye bread for several weeks. It has helped to stabilize my blood sugar. I substitute wheat flour for the corn meal because it makes the bread lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crowhole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Very good, very easy to make, but like a number of others, the dough fell when the heat started. Was hoping for a light, airy, soft rye but I have yet to find one. Made exactly as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Turned out wonderful, even with quite a few changes. I used Great River 7 Grain Bread flour, regular flour and the dark rye + corn meal. I used a bit less sweetener, part molasses, and coconut oil instead of olive.... the rest as written except more gluten. I used the french setting for my Westbend bread maker on medium crust and the loaf needed to bake a little longer. I think next time I will use the low setting for crust and the full amount of sweetener. Wonderful rye taste and denser because of the whole grains. I am very pleased with this, it is much better than the other bread machine rye recipe I tried. It will pair nicely with sandwiches and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The crust is a little harder than I prefer, but this bread is great! My bread machine is small, so I halved the recipe and followed other reviews by omitting the cornmeal and instead using bread flour for the cornmeal. I also omitted the wheat gluten. It just finished cooking and I had a little to make sure I liked the taste before planning my lunch tomorrow. So yummy! My husband had a taste, too, and he said it makes him yearn for some Northern European food! Thanks for the great, useful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TokyoVeggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
first time i made it I used honey, good but missing something. Next time omitted honey and used mollasas, YUM. Made the rye pop. So i now use a bit more caraway and mollasas instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States