Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Fabulous! Great Flavor! Didn't make a single change. Used my Westbend bread maker on regular setting and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I personally don't care for rye bread. The taste of carraway=blech for me. I made this loaf for my boyfriend (who adores it) and he is RAVING about it. This is definitely on the list of breads to make again :). He says 5 stars for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianoducky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I'd give it 4.5 stars if I could. Just a touch sweet, and be sure to use a fairly fine cornmeal. Bob's Red Mill Coarse is a bit large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Great heavy, dense loaf of bread! I love the flavor! I didn't need all of the bread flour called for, that would have been too much! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yummy, true rye bread taste that I haven't found in any other breadmaker rye recipe I've tried so far. I have a Zojirushi Mini Breadmaker (BB-HAC10) that bakes 1 pound loaves. I found that dividing in half all the ingredient amounts in this recipe results in the perfect quantities for my Zojirushi breadmaker. I baked it using the regular cycle, normal crust setting. The only other change I made is to substitute dark corn syrup in place of the same quantity of honey, since I didn't have any honey on hand. This seemed to work great, and as a bonus for some people, turns this into a vegan recipe. As I mentioned above, it tasted great, probably better than the best store-bought rye I've had. In terms of texture, it was light and fluffy - not dense like I would expect from a rye loaf. While I'm sure some people would prefer this light and fluffy texure, I'd like to see if I can get a denser loaf. I may try the recipe on the French bread setting next time to see what happens. Thanks for posting this recipe, Wynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I likes it. The only thing that I didn't like was that the corn meal made it dry when in the toaster. But all in all it was great for sandwiches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My daughter's on a Low Oxalate Diet because of kidney stones and rye bread is allowed. I've tried to find a recipe that works and this is the first one that didn't fall during baking. I did make some changes first: no caraway seed - not on diet, cut out cornmeal and raised the bread flour the same amount. I also didn't have any gluten to add so raising the bread flour helped cover that. It was tasty and quite moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Had good flavor. I made this on the French setting on my bread machine. It fell before it baked. The dough was too sticky, and the bread is REALLY sticky too. I even added more flour than it called for. I couldn't finish the loaf and it ended up in the trash. I might try it one more time, in a mixer with more flour, but I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
The best rye bread I ever made or tasted The flavor reminds me of the old world european rye bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States