Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Using a Breadman bread machine I could not get this bread to come out. It finished deformed both times I tried to make it and was too dense to enjoy. I followed the recipe but I'm sorry to say it never worked out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This bread is awesome. I don't usually change a recipe but I really don't like caraway seeds so I did omit them. This is my new go to bread it holds up well for a sandwich. I like the cornmeal it gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This bread is fantastic! Delicious! But, OOPS!, I didn't notice until after the fact that I had inadvertently left out the cornmeal. Fuhgeddaboudit! It doesn't need it. The only DELIBERATE change I made to the recipe was to cut the amount of yeast from two teaspoons down to one-and-a-half, and next time, I'm thinking of cutting it to one. (The one-and-a-half pound loaf comes out fairly high, and it just barely squeezes into my plastic bread storage bags.) Thanks to this recipe, I can have the rye bread I love (it's my favorite kind of bread) without the high fructose corn syrup -- and sodium I DON'T want. This recipe is a definite winner and a keeper! UPDATE TO MY ORIGINAL REVIEW: I figured out my too-high-loaf-won't-fit-in-bag problem. It wasn't too much YEAST, it was too much GLUTEN. I've cut the amount of vital wheat gluten in half (One tablespoon instead of two), and it's PERFECT! No more store-bought rye bread for me! This is my "go-to" rye bread from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
VERY Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
dough was VERY sticky and my loaf did fall, will try again altering flour measurements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This makes great sandwich bread and is also good with soup. I followed the recipe, except that I added an extra tsp of yeast and then did this on the quick cycle because I was short on time. I use regular rye flour and wish the flavor hadn't been quite so subtle. Perhaps dark rye flour would make the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Although it had the general taste of rye bread, the crumb was very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Pretty good rye bread! It's a tad dense, but not too heavy--I've eaten rye breads that are much heavier. Extremely easy as well with the bread machine as a helper, although I didn't bake it in the bread machine--I did the dough cycle and baked in the oven for 40 min at 375. Came out well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Without the caraway it would be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I really love this rye bread. I followed the recipe exactly except I increased the caraway seeds to 1 tablespoon and salt to 1 1/2 teaspoons. I used finely ground cornmeal as well. I love how the cornmeal made a crispy, chewy crust. I used the multi-grain setting on my bread machine and it turned out wonderful. It was light and not heavy or dense at all. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States