Uncle Wynn's Bread Machine Rye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Turned out wonderful, even with quite a few changes. I used Great River 7 Grain Bread flour, regular flour and the dark rye + corn meal. I used a bit less sweetener, part molasses, and coconut oil instead of olive.... the rest as written except more gluten. I used the french setting for my Westbend bread maker on medium crust and the loaf needed to bake a little longer. I think next time I will use the low setting for crust and the full amount of sweetener. Wonderful rye taste and denser because of the whole grains. I am very pleased with this, it is much better than the other bread machine rye recipe I tried. It will pair nicely with sandwiches and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen M Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The crust is a little harder than I prefer, but this bread is great! My bread machine is small, so I halved the recipe and followed other reviews by omitting the cornmeal and instead using bread flour for the cornmeal. I also omitted the wheat gluten. It just finished cooking and I had a little to make sure I liked the taste before planning my lunch tomorrow. So yummy! My husband had a taste, too, and he said it makes him yearn for some Northern European food! Thanks for the great, useful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TokyoVeggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
first time i made it I used honey, good but missing something. Next time omitted honey and used mollasas, YUM. Made the rye pop. So i now use a bit more caraway and mollasas instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My fault, I did not read all reviews and baked this on French bread setting and it fell. May make again using basic setting sometime/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Using a Breadman bread machine I could not get this bread to come out. It finished deformed both times I tried to make it and was too dense to enjoy. I followed the recipe but I'm sorry to say it never worked out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This bread is awesome. I don't usually change a recipe but I really don't like caraway seeds so I did omit them. This is my new go to bread it holds up well for a sandwich. I like the cornmeal it gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This bread is fantastic! Delicious! But, OOPS!, I didn't notice until after the fact that I had inadvertently left out the cornmeal. Fuhgeddaboudit! It doesn't need it. The only DELIBERATE change I made to the recipe was to cut the amount of yeast from two teaspoons down to one-and-a-half, and next time, I'm thinking of cutting it to one. (The one-and-a-half pound loaf comes out fairly high, and it just barely squeezes into my plastic bread storage bags.) Thanks to this recipe, I can have the rye bread I love (it's my favorite kind of bread) without the high fructose corn syrup -- and sodium I DON'T want. This recipe is a definite winner and a keeper! UPDATE TO MY ORIGINAL REVIEW: I figured out my too-high-loaf-won't-fit-in-bag problem. It wasn't too much YEAST, it was too much GLUTEN. I've cut the amount of vital wheat gluten in half (One tablespoon instead of two), and it's PERFECT! No more store-bought rye bread for me! This is my "go-to" rye bread from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
VERY Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
dough was VERY sticky and my loaf did fall, will try again altering flour measurements
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This makes great sandwich bread and is also good with soup. I followed the recipe, except that I added an extra tsp of yeast and then did this on the quick cycle because I was short on time. I use regular rye flour and wish the flavor hadn't been quite so subtle. Perhaps dark rye flour would make the difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States