Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Ohhh, I SO enjoyed this bread! Regular ol' sliced bread works out better for our needs, so I made this into a loaf rather than rolls. Because I like less sweetness and more density in my breads I reduced the sugar to one tablespoon. I also used butter instead of oil, but that's no biggie either - I'm sure I would have been equally as happy with the canola oil (if, in fact, I ever used canola oil in the first place). I threw in a fair amount of fresh dill just for a flavor variation but this bread is just fine on its own. It's rich and flavorful, which I fully expected because of the egg yolk, buttermilk and brown sugar. It has a beautiful pale golden blush of color. Rolls or bread, this is a real winner - one of the better recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Yum SO good! I ended up adding a bit more buttermilk than called for (about 1-1/4 cup) because it appeared to be a little dry after my bread machine got it all mixed up. Also, next time I will just go ahead and add the oil with the rest of the wet ingredients into my machine before beginning the dough cycle. I don't see any point to adding it later. Instead of using a whole stick of butter I just melted about 2 Tbsp. and brushed it on with a pastry brush during and also after baking. Instead of rolls I chose to make the dough into a loaf by rolling it into a rectangle and rolling it up from the long side, tucking ends under. The result was beautiful! Sliced beautifully, smelled wonderful and tasted even better. I will definitely use for rolls next time I need them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Photo by robograndma
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I was drawn to this recipe because of the buttermilk (needed to use some up) and the smaller amount of flour. I gave it five stars, because it fit just what I was looking for. Tried this for Sunday dinner.I was worried about the buttermilk not being warm when I started but it seemed to make no differance. I made only one change.I used brown sugar splenda blend; but will warm the milk, egg and oil next time and add togeather to see if it does.As Valerie did. I made smaller rolls about 24 as I was hoping to have some leftover for Monday's dinner will have to make more. Son and husband took them for a snack on the way to work and class. Now I have a use for buttermilk beyond ranch dressing and fried chicken. Thank you Musterdseed for a wonderfuly easy & tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
WOW! WOW! I have been searching for the best recipe.....and this is it my friends! The only tweaking involved was getting rid of the brown sugar and using white sugar. I had to add a bit more flour, but I think that was personal preference. I also made them into "cloverleafs"(3 small dough balls) in each cup of the muffin tin.I let them rise most of the afternoon and kept brushing melted butter on top (butter kept absorbing into the dough). When they came out of the oven they were crispy on top and absolutely delicious! A total family pleaser...my 4 year old Daughter even ate them and she does not like bread at all. THANKS!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Fabulous, silken dough, a dream to work with. The rolls are good. However, there's an elusive something missing from the flavor. After a bit of analysis, I believe that they're lacking that ever-so-slight sweetness the palate expects to taste in a dinner roll. Presumably, this is because the acidic contribution of the buttermilk serves to counteract and cancel out the sweetness of the sugar addition. It's quite possible that this could be improved by doubling the sugar - don't know. It falls short of the 5 star rating because Colleen's Potato Crescent Rolls on this site produces the quintessential dinner roll, the touchstone against which all others are judged for me. If you make the two recipes side-by-side, you will understand there is absolutely no comparison. That said, this is a respectable alternative. Note: I also baked as a loaf, and the consensus is that it's more successful when baked in this manner. The lack of sweetness, which makes the flavor border on blandness in a roll, translates better into bread. The ideal backdrop for whatever meat and fixings you choose to place between the slices, its lovely, moist texture contributes to a memorable sammie. Sturdy enough to stand up to slicing, without crumbling. In fact, when I ate my sandwich, this bread was so moist that not a single crumb fell on the plate! Great for morning toast, as well. Baked in a 9"X5" loaf, I get 14 full slices and 2 heels. I always keep slices in the freezer. As bread 5 star, as rolls 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought these were awesome! My husband would have rated a 4 because he likes his rolls crunchy on the top and I could have made them that way but following the directions exactly-I loved how dense and soft these were. I used all-purpose since I couldn't find bread flour and I made my buttermilk since I didn't have any on hand and they still came out perfect. So excited to have found an easy and quick roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Really delicious with a rich taste that makes you think they are full of fat but they're not! I even used fat free buttermilk and did not brush with butter. Instead I beat the unused egg white slightly and brushed it on the rolls before putting in the oven for a beautiful golden brown finish and nice crust. I did the cloverleaf style and they looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I replaced 1 cup of flour with whole wheat, used only one tablespoon of (white) sugar, and used a whole egg. This made eight of the best hamburger buns I've ever eaten. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this recipe for my family, and they loved it! I don't have a bread machine, so I made the rolls by hand and they turned out great. We even had some for breakfast the next morning with jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've made these twice now, both with excellent results. The second time around I didn't have any buttermilk but made a sustitute by mixing 1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of vinegar and letting the mixture sit for 5 minutes before adding to the bread machine. Both times I got great reviews from my family (in contrast to another roll recipe I tried which to this day haunts my reputation in the kitchen). Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States