Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Wonderful! I just made these to use up some buttermilk I have. This will be my go to roll recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Currie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
wasn't impressed, not much flavor. other than using powered buttermilk, followed receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I used this recipe to use up an abundance of homegrown/made kefir milk. The rise was phenomenal - I almost didn't want to make the dough into rolls! I did need to increase the milk to close to 1 and 1/4 cups as another reviewer also did. My dough just looked too dry. I used the muffin tin for single rolls (will try clover ones next time). And I rubbed a cold stick of butter on top when they were done baking. Yummy! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Really delicious with a rich taste that makes you think they are full of fat but they're not! I even used fat free buttermilk and did not brush with butter. Instead I beat the unused egg white slightly and brushed it on the rolls before putting in the oven for a beautiful golden brown finish and nice crust. I did the cloverleaf style and they looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These were very easy to make. I followed recipe as listed. I gave these 4 stars though because mine tasted a little saltier than expected, not sure if it was the salt or the buttermilk that did it, but to me it tasted more like a biscuit instead of a roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I thought these were awesome! My husband would have rated a 4 because he likes his rolls crunchy on the top and I could have made them that way but following the directions exactly-I loved how dense and soft these were. I used all-purpose since I couldn't find bread flour and I made my buttermilk since I didn't have any on hand and they still came out perfect. So excited to have found an easy and quick roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I needed to use up some buttermilk when I found this recipe. They were very easy, from start to finish and came out beautifully. My husband absolutely LOVED them! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These were ok for us. They were very dense and I didn't get a good rise from them. My buttermilk was not heated or at room temp which I thought might have affected that. These still don't beat the taste of my personal favorite from this site. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
so easy and very soft. i added 4 tablespoons of vital gluten to the dry mix. i rolled into 3 balls and placed 3 per cupcake tin to have pull apart rolls. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Unfortunately mine did not turn out very well. I must admit I used whole wheat flour and mixed with hands instead of bread machine. So my review is not fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States