Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
The rolls were great! I tried them out before Thanksgiving to see what they would taste like. I think I waited too long to add the oil, so I needed to add more buttermilk. Once I added more buttermilk, they looked very wet, so I had to add more flour. They definitely rose to double in size. I can't wait to make more Thursday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is now my go-to recipe for all things yeast-bread. I did heat my milk (I use milk + a splash of vinegar if I don't have buttermilk) slowly in the microwave before adding to the bread maker, and also followed the manufacturer's directions to put the yeast in first, then dry stuff, then wet. I also let the rolls touch when I put them in the pan so they're like those school lunchroom-style pull-apart rolls! I had to watch a YouTube video to learn how to form the rolls -- there really is an art to it! -- but it was sooo worth it! I served these last Thanksgiving along with little tubs of garlic butter and cinnamon butter and they were inhaled! I definitely plan to make them again this year! P.S. This is also a great recipe for cinnamon roll dough. Flatten it out, pile on your filling, roll, slice, bake and glaze. Yowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Even though I used regular flour, 1 1/4 cups of 2% milk. Both batches of rolls came out beautifully and taste divine. After trying many other recipes (which were epic fails because they were too hard, too dry etc..) this is the one I will use hands down. Thanks for sharing the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
My 12 year old daughter loves these! She's always telling me to make more! She could eat about 20 of these things if she could :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
How much is a stick of butter? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This recipe did not work for me AT ALL! flavor was ok but I didn't care for the texture mine turned out pretty heavy and kinda thick I don't know what went wrong I se all the rave reviews I bake bread weekly im not new at bread makin I don't think I will be trying this recipe again thank you for sharing though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Awesome!!!! I LOVE these rolls!! They were so easy to make and the dough turned out perfect!!! I had buttermilk that I needed to use up before it spoiled so I just searched for buttermilk recipes and I am so glad I found this one!! The buttermilk makes them extra soft and flavorful!!! As suggested by another reviewer, I made mine into a cloverleaf shape (three small balls in each muffin cup). I definitely will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have been looking for a good bread machine roll recipe for so long! My family loved these at Thanksgiving so I had to make them again at Christmas. (and again the next day)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I found the recipe dry, when mixed in bread machine. I had to add more and more buttermilk. End result, the rolls were tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Not bad, rather easy--measurements are perfect for a nice, light bread. I made rolls, as directed, but deviated and made 8 large sandwich rolls. I'm too impatient to make smaller rolls most of the time. I didn't brush with butter--or anything, and they came out soft and golden brown. Hubs enjoyed these, which means it must be a nice light bread. He's not a fan of heavier, chewy breads. I thought it baked up well. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States