Uncle White's Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
This is a staple in our house when I have soups or stews! I follow the recipe exactly except for a possible tablespoon of water added to the bread machine shortly after I start it. I've found this isn't always needed so you need to watch your dough in the beginning. Also, I used the substitute for buttermilk, add 1 Tbsp. vinegar to a glass measuring cup then add the rest of the milk needed (I use 2% and it works great). Let sit at room temperature for about 10 minutes. Also, I add vegetable oil in the beginning and have never had a problem. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These are incredibly delicious. We don't have a bread machine so I made these with my kitchenaid mixer. I mixed all the dry ingredients in the bowl with the egg yolk, while the yeast proofed in the warm milk with a tablespoon of sugar. (I doubled the amount of sugar in the recipe to make them a little sweeter). Then I added the milk/yeast mixture to the bowl and mixed it all together, adding the oil right at the end. I kneaded the dough by hand, then let it rise in the oven with the light on for a couple of hours. Baked for 20 minutes and they were perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Husband approved. My hubby is a HUGE bread eater and he loved these rolls. I made them to serve with 'Smothered Pierogies' from AR. DH managed to eat 4 1/2 rolls before and with dinner. Starting them in the bread machine was a great time-saver for me. Because the house was cool (-20° wind chills, outside) it took about an hour for mine to double in size. Great recipe and one that I will be using again. Thanks DwightNT for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
The rolls were great! I tried them out before Thanksgiving to see what they would taste like. I think I waited too long to add the oil, so I needed to add more buttermilk. Once I added more buttermilk, they looked very wet, so I had to add more flour. They definitely rose to double in size. I can't wait to make more Thursday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is now my go-to recipe for all things yeast-bread. I did heat my milk (I use milk + a splash of vinegar if I don't have buttermilk) slowly in the microwave before adding to the bread maker, and also followed the manufacturer's directions to put the yeast in first, then dry stuff, then wet. I also let the rolls touch when I put them in the pan so they're like those school lunchroom-style pull-apart rolls! I had to watch a YouTube video to learn how to form the rolls -- there really is an art to it! -- but it was sooo worth it! I served these last Thanksgiving along with little tubs of garlic butter and cinnamon butter and they were inhaled! I definitely plan to make them again this year! P.S. This is also a great recipe for cinnamon roll dough. Flatten it out, pile on your filling, roll, slice, bake and glaze. Yowza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Even though I used regular flour, 1 1/4 cups of 2% milk. Both batches of rolls came out beautifully and taste divine. After trying many other recipes (which were epic fails because they were too hard, too dry etc..) this is the one I will use hands down. Thanks for sharing the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
My 12 year old daughter loves these! She's always telling me to make more! She could eat about 20 of these things if she could :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
How much is a stick of butter? Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This recipe did not work for me AT ALL! flavor was ok but I didn't care for the texture mine turned out pretty heavy and kinda thick I don't know what went wrong I se all the rave reviews I bake bread weekly im not new at bread makin I don't think I will be trying this recipe again thank you for sharing though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States